Review: A Gift Of Poison (English)

 

a gift

Remember these are just my thoughts and my opinions. Maybe we agree or maybe we don’t. Share with me your opinion! Respect everyone and other opinions.

 

 

Profile of womanAs the orphaned niece of a cruel lord, Briand is the scapegoat of the castle. She has few friends and even fewer options, and every day is a struggle to stay ahead of trouble caused by malicious guards and irritable castle servants.

Briand is set to be banished to the wildlands, a death sentence, when she when she accidentally unlocks a hidden power and involves herself in a rebel plot and her life abruptly changes. Imprisoned in the company of a band of rebels, Briand must do what seems impossible: call up sleeping dragons in the north. But the fearsome Prince’s assassins called Seekers are looking for her, Briand doesn’t know if she can trust the mysterious, enigmatic rebel leader Kael, and there might be a traitor in the rebels’ midst.

Pages: 218
Published: October 12th 2014
Edition Language: English

(I recived a copy of this book from XpressoBookTours in exchange of a honest review)

 

4.5

*4.5-5/5 stars*

I loved this book! (And the cover is gorgeous)

The Writing:
I loved the writing, I understood everything and all the story was connected. There are a few scenes from others POVs but most of the are from Briand’s POV. I wanted to read more from Kael’s POV.

The Story:
Its a story about a girl who has a difficult life and one day by accident she heard a Kael and other characters talking and they will do something that might kill her cousin Bran. Bran is part of this conversation so he knows the risks. She doesn’t know what is going on but thakes the poison. Then a snake is threw at her and since it doesn’t bit her, now she is someone very important for that group. They have to travel and avoid the Seekers, people who will torture them and maybe if they’re lucky, kill them.
I really liked the world. It’s a fantasy with dragons and I haven’t read that many books with that.
I liked how you see the characters developments and their changes through the experiences they live in this book. You can also see how the relationship and bond between the characters grows. It has a big kind of twist that maybe you imagine it at some point of the book but maybe you didn’t. (Personally, I thought about it and then just said ‘no,I’m just being paranoid’)
It has lot of action and character development as I said before but it doesn’t have a love story, it’s definitely the beginning of it that I can’t wait to read more.
The end. What?! How?! I want to continue reading this. Give me the second book now!

The Characters:
•Briand: I liked her. She tries to do everything to survive. It was frustrating that she was accused of things she didn’t and no one trusted her.
•Kael: I think its a good leader but we don’t really get to know him well. But I want to. He is a mystery
•Bran: I liked him bc he was the one that sometimes was with Briand but I didn’t like him because he wouldn’t stand for her. There were many times were he could say or do something to help Briand in bad situations and he didn’t.
•Nath: I didn’t like him and then I ended up liking him.
•Tibus: I liked his personality and how he could accept he was wrong.

This is a great fantasy with dragons and characters that maybe you don’t like them at first but you will like. Great character development and action.

About the author:

I’ve been making up stories since I was five years old, and now I’m thrilled to be able to do it as a full-time job. I have an obsession with dark fantasy, dystopian futures, and Pride and Prejudice-style love stories full of witty banter and sizzling, unspoken feelings. When I’m not writing, I’m creating digital art, reading funny blogs, or watching my favorite shows (which include TVD and BSG). I live with my geeky husband and our two bad cats in Atlanta, GA.

Website        Goodreads      Twitter

 

One thought on “Review: A Gift Of Poison (English)

Responder

