Review: Rivulet (English)

 

rivulet

Remember these are just my thoughts and my opinions. Maybe we agree or maybe we don’t. Share with me your opinion! Respect everyone and other opinions.

21765357Unfathomable forces have always contested Genevieve Indiana Falcon, known as Indie. The curse of her cold touch entraps her just as the grief ignited in her past torments her. Yet, her mysterious ability to dream while awake saturates her in the belief that she was not always anguished. There is hope that one day a true peace in her soul can be found.

Foolishly, Indie assumes she has contained her life in an odd balance, and she cherishes the visions she sees of the enigmatic boy that held her in a lost time, but can never reach. She grieves for a life she fears she’ll never possess, and that grief is a weapon she uses against her aunt who stands between her and her inheritance.

Weeks away from her twenty-first birthday, the date where she would assume control over her family legacy, a night terror robs Indie of the balance she was clinging to. Like the dream she had before she lost her family, it predicts a fatal catastrophe on the horizon. The fight between life and death, good and evil, began the moment her thundering heart awoke her.

Everything changed after that dream. The one thing that keeps her curse at bay is stolen, and then the enigmatic boy arrives in the flesh. Face to face with her fiery born-again lover Indie realizes that the only way she can prevent the tragedy before her is to surrender everything she was, is, and could be.

Can she bend the laws of nature and fight the improbability that fire and ice could ever be one? As far as Indie is concerned, there is not a myth, spoken fate, or curse that is stronger than her stubborn desire to have it all … including him.

Isn’t this cover beautiful? It’s what got my interest first.

*I reived a review copy from NetGalley in exchange of a honest review*

4-5

The Writing:
I really liked it. It made me be into the book and being interested from the first moment. Its all from one POV, from Indie’s POV. Maybe I would like to read others POV (Phoenix,Mason or Gavin) but as a short story. I think it would be confusing to read it in the ‘main’ book.

The Story:
It was a really interesting story form the beginning. The Falcon family taking care of children who had no family was such a sweet and amazing thing. Then, Indie with her powers. How amazing was that? I’m not sure I would like cold and ice as a power but it was amazing! Indie has a great character deveopment, people and circumstances, changes in her life make posible for her to grow as a strong main character. There are lots of twists,betrayal and things you don’t expect. The Flacon’s house is where all the action happens and most of the book is in there. I liked how the house was like laberinth or puzzle, how they had to find different keys to solve their problems, their existences. Its a race between time and characters and you have to find out who will win. Evil is in this too, and is something more they have to face. You have a kind of impossible but at the same time destined relationship. It’s really beautiful to read, however sometimes was a bit too much for me.

I hope to read more about other characters and powers, I want this plot to develop because I think in this book we get to read the introduction.

The Characters:
•Indie: I liked her through all the book but I really liked her at the end of the book. As I said before she has a great character development and I really want to read the next book to read more of her. Her powers are amazing.
•Phoenix: I loved him. He is so sweet but he doesn’t pretend to be the stronger perfect who doesn’t fear anything. He fear things, he fear his decisions if they are right or wrong. He is strong. And he is perfect in his own way.
•Indie and Phoenix relationship was so beautiful. Destined but impossible. They fight so much to be together and are amazing when they are side by side. I can’t wait to read more of them in the next book. I want a Phoenix. I want a relationship as beautiful,strong,full of faith and love as them.
•Mason: He was such an amazing friend. While I was reading him and Gavin I was like ‘I want male bestfriends like them’. He was there for Indie any time, anywhere. It was so beutiful, such a good friendship.
•Gavin: The same as Mason but I think I liked just a bit more Mason, just because I think I get to know Mason more than Gavin. But he is an amazing bestfriend too.
•Wilder: I had big expectation but he disappointed me.
•Cadence: At first I didn’t hate her but I didn’t like her. Now I hate her. 🙂

This is a great supernatural book, with mystery, action, betrayal, romance, friendship that leaves you wanting to continue the story.

Extras:

Quotes:

“Nothing worth having comes instantly. It’s the fight, the drive that makes your dreams strong enough to withstand the mark of time.”

“She told me, she promised me that one day there would be a dare, a person that made me realize that who I was, curse and all, was beautiful, powerful. They would be worth every dare, every ounce of painand I would not think twice before I let my guard down and bared my soul to them.”

Playlist: (I didn’t make this playlist, this was wrote at the end of the book, I’m just leaving the songs and links).

  1. Florence  + The Machine – Seven Devils
  2. Florence + The Machine- Heavy In Your Arms
  3. Florence + The machine – Never Let Me Go
  4. Sugarland- Genevive
  5. Lana Del Rey – Born To Die
  6. A Fine Frenzy- Almost Lover
  7. Hot Like Fire- The XX
  8. Placebo- I’ll Be Yours
  9. Breaking Benjamin – I Will Not Bow
  10. Ellie Goulding- I Know You Care
  11. Ellie Goulding – Anything Could Happen
  12. Imagine Dragons – Radioactive
  13. Katie Costello – Stranger

I know many of the links are not the originals but I couldn’t find the official videos.

About the author:

4200019Jamie Magee

I’m an obsessive daydreamer. Lover of loud alternative music. I love to laugh until it hurts. Fall is my favorite season. Black is my favorite ‘shade.’ Strong believer in the saying: there is a reason for everything, therefore I search for ‘marked moments’ every moment of everyday…and I find them. Life is beautiful!

Goodreads.       Website.          Twitter.

 

5 thoughts on “Review: Rivulet (English)

  1. Great review, Aldii! 😀 You’re right the cover is pretty cool 🙂 I’m glad you like this book and I loved when you said “At first I didn’t hate her but I didn’t like her. Now I hate her. :)” haha 😛 I really like the songs and the quotes (Born to Die is my favorite) ❤ I think I should read this one, it sounds interesting 😀

    Le gusta a 1 persona

Responder

