Review: Once Upon a [Stolen] Time (English)

Review Time

Remember these are just my thoughts and my opinions. Maybe we agree or maybe we don’t. Share with me your opinion! Respect everyone and other opinions.

268762042015…
All her life, Myra Farrow has been obsessed with medieval castles—and the kings and princes who once inhabited them. Now, wealthy videogame designer Steve Bernard wants her to model for a princess character in his new game. Myra can’t resist his offer, especially when she learns that Steve plans to film inside the mysterious Hue Castle—a cursed, barren, colorless place forbidden to visitors for centuries. But unknown to Myra, her soul is bound to Hue Castle by blood and sorcery. When she enters its doors, she awakens dark powers that will reach through time—stealing her past, torturing her present, and rewriting her future.

1415…
Edward Hue, the last of the Hue royal bloodline, has never stood in the sunshine or held a living flower. Cursed from birth to live in darkness and bring death to all he touches, he is at the mercy of his cruel, tyrannical father, who will not rest until he shatters Edward’s soul and makes his son into a diabolical copy of himself. Edward’s one hope is the mysterious woman who haunts his dreams—who will either break his curse and bring him out of the darkness, or destroy him utterly.

For Myra and Edward, past and future collide in a tale of love, obsession, betrayal, and the hope for redemption.

*I was given a copy in exchange of a honest review*

4-5

 

I’m writing this a minute after finishing this book and my mind is empty and full at the same time.

The Writing:
I really liked the writing, how everything is so detailed. You are there, you can be in the book. I also loved how the story is written its really fluid. This story has two POVs: one from Myra in 2015 and one from Edward in 1415. Yes, I didn’t write the year wrong. One chapter from each POV, alternating each one. Oh! And there are these quotes about love before any new chapter begins that I think its a great detail and I loved reading each quote.
I liked the title, because its like a fairy tale but then the ‘Stolen’ changes everything.

The Story:
If you are a lover of history,kind of historical fiction,castles,kings this is for you.
From the first moment in the prologue, I was drown into the story. This is not a fast read I think, you take your time to read and enjoy this story (or at least that’s what I did). This has an impossible love, but such a great one. I fell in love with Ed, like Myra.
She goes one day into this castle that no one has been and that se has been dying to go. When she is there she can see and experience this that others can’t. This castle has a lot of mystery and she is the one who maybe can solve them.
This is the start of a great story. It has lot of mystery but no action, don’t expect that. It has also a romance, but not the classical one. It has some twists and things that you don’t expect.
About the end: I want more. I wasn’t expecting to end like that, I was shocked. I wasn’t expecting to love that many characters. And there are lot’s of mysteries that weren’t solved. I want answers!
One great thing about this book is how the author plays with past and present, and present is this year, that is so cool!

The Characters:
•Myra: I liked her personality. I could identify myself with her. She being a quiet person who has fallen in love with fictional characters, likes history and loves castles. She is in a really difficult situation, and she is mostly all the time down to earth. Whit that I mean that she knows she has a good life and she asks herself why she wants more and most of the time she lives in history not reality, difficult thing.
•Edward: He is so sweet but has a difficult time. I love him but I will need the next book to continue saying that. The time he is in and his father make awful things that made him change. I couldn’t believe his personality by the end of the book.
•Steve: At the beginning I liked him as a friend and by the end I really liked him, a lot. I don’t know what will happen with him in the next book.

This is a great historical,romance story that keeps you wanting to solve the mysteries that the Hue Castle has and wants an impossible love to become reality. You will be drown into the story from the beginning with and end that will leave you wanting more.

Again, this is not a fast paced story but a full worthy read. I can wait for the next book!!

About the Author:

7138069History, art and literature are my passions. I love digging out information about prophecies, divine miracles and paranormal events that are mentioned in history and holy books, that don’t sound possible in today’s modern world.

Since childhood, I have been into reading and writing—and yes, it can’t happen without imagination, which luckily has no boundaries. Dance and music are also pastimes I enjoy, as well as reading romance fiction. I love to travel and explore historical cities.

Website.      Twitter.      Goodreads.

Responder

