Review: The Last Of The Firedrakes

 

the last

Remember these are just my thoughts and my opinions. Maybe we agree or maybe we don’t. Share with me your opinion! Respect everyone and other opinions.

25781691116-year-old Aurora Darlington is an orphan. Mistreated by her adopted family and bullied at school, she dreams of running away and being free. But when she is kidnapped and dragged through a portal into a magical world, suddenly her old life doesn’t seem so bad.

Avalonia is a dangerous land ruled by powerful mages and a cruel, selfish queen who will do anything to control all seven kingdoms—including killing anyone who stands in her way. Thrust headlong into this new, magical world, Aurora’s arrival sets plans in motion that threaten to destroy all she holds dear.

With the help of a young fae, a magical pegasus, and a handsome mage, Aurora journeys across Avalonia to learn the truth about her past and unleash the power within herself. Kingdoms collide as a complicated web of political intrigue and ancient magic lead Aurora to unravel a shocking secret that will change her life forever.

Goodreads link.

Amazon link.

Pages: 488

Published: August 15th 2015

*I was given a copy in exchange of a honest review*

3.5

The Writing:
I like the writing it was clear and easy to read. It has details but not too much to make it hard to concentrate. I kept wanting to know more, to read more.

The Story:
The story is great, the world, the characters my only problem was Aurora,the main character.
You follow Aurora in this crazy journey into a magic world. There are seven kingdoms and one of them is ruled by Morgana, an usurper. And Morgana wants to find Aurora. So she has to escape and lives many different adventures. There will be faes,mages, and a school of mages involved along with dark magic and magic elements. This is a YA story, so we have the enmity, love and personality of a teenager.
I loved this story with lots of action and magic. I don’t know why I thought this was a dragon related book. (Yes,I know, WTF?) It has nothing to do with that. It has a start with the classic bad family, I think its a bit like Cinderella but then she goes into this magic world and it has nothing to do with Cinderella.
I don’t want to give many details of the story, I don’t want to write any spoiler.
I kept wanting to know the identity of a character and then when it comes out I was a bit surprised. I thought about that possibility, but then I said ‘no,it can’t be’ well, yes, it was.
Different twists keep your interest all the way until the last page.

The Characters:
Aurora: God,you are an idiot. I’m sorry, I had to say it. At the beginning I liked her. I mean, she was a sixteen years old girl in a new world, its quite hard. But then, she know the thruth about herself, and HELLO you have a kingdom and many many lifes to save, and you are thinking of a guy?! Really?! Its okay, we got that you like him, its okay, but FOCUS! She was SO frustrating! Then it seems like she might be good again, I liked her a bit. But no, she has to do things people say ‘Don’t do it, it’s dangerous’ and she has to go an do it. She doesn’t listen others than herself most of the time. If she had other personality, this book could be a 5/5 stars without any doubts. But she frustrated me so much, she made me be angry, mad. I was like ‘breath,breath and continue reading’. Maybe this doesn’t happen to you,but yeah.
Rafe: I like him. He is not an idiot. But now that I think of it, we don’t know much about him, about his personality. Maybe in the next book, High expectations over here.
Viv,Kalen,Penelope,Uncle Gabriel,Aunt Serena: I just will write about them together. They’re Aurora’s family, they are the people who support her and will help her as much as they can. They are all friendly and nice.

This is a good and easy read. With a fantastic world, faes and mages. With demons, dark magic, mysteries, and obects that can change all. And just a few people to stop a tyrant.

Quotes:

“I had to stop running. I had to turn and face my life head on. It wasn’t enough being like everybody else; I had to be the best, and I was going to show everyone what I was truly made of.”

About the author:

14124424For Farah Oomerbhoy, writing is a passion and reading her solace. She is a firm believer in the fantastic and magical, and often dreams of living in Narnia, Neverland, or the Enchanted Forest.

Farah lives with her husband and three children in their family home in Mumbai, India. She has a Master’s degree in English Literature from the University of Mumbai. Her first novel, The Last of the Firedrakes, Book 1 of the Avalonia Chronicles will be published worldwide in August 2015.

Twitter.       Goodreads.       Website.

One thought on “Review: The Last Of The Firedrakes

Responder

