perfectioninbooks Recommends #3: Urban Fantasy

 

urban fantasy

Hello everyone!

This is my first post in this feature that I hope we will enjoy.

I have been saying that I wanted to do a post about Urban Fantasy since lately I’ve been reading a lot of these and I love them! So, here I am, writing this.

They aren’t in any order of which is my favorite than the other or anything.

Fever Series:

112750When her sister is murdered, leaving a single clue to her death—a cryptic message on MacKayla Lane’s cell phone–Mac journeys to Ireland in search of answers. The quest to find her sister’s killer draws her into a shadowy realm where nothing is as it seems, where good and evil wear the same treacherously seductive mask. She is soon faced with an even greater challenge: staying alive long enough to learn how to handle a power she had no idea she possessed—a gift that allows her to see beyond the world of man, into the dangerous realm of the Fae.

Goodreads link.

Charley Davidson Series:

8788554This whole grim reaper thing should have come with a manual.
Or a diagram of some kind.
A flow chart would have been nice.

Charley Davidson is a part-time private investigator and full-time grim reaper. Meaning, she sees dead people. Really. And it’s her job to convince them to “go into the light.” But when these very dead people have died under less than ideal circumstances (like murder), sometimes they want Charley to bring the bad guys to justice. Complicating matters are the intensely hot dreams she’s been having about an entity who has been following her all her life…and it turns out he might not be dead after all. In fact, he might be something else entirely. But what does he want with Charley? And why can’t she seem to resist him? And what does she have to lose by giving in?

With scorching-hot tension and high-octane humor, First Grave on the Right is your signpost to paranormal suspense of the highest order.

Goodreads link.

Kate Daniels Series:

38619Atlanta would be a nice place to live, if it weren’t for magic…

One moment magic dominates, and cars stall and guns fail. The next, technology takes over and the defensive spells no longer protect your house from monsters. Here skyscrapers topple under onslaught of magic; werebears and werehyenas prowl through the ruined streets; and the Masters of the Dead, necromancers driven by their thirst of knowledge and wealth, pilot blood-crazed vampires with their minds.

In this world lives Kate Daniels. Kate likes her sword a little too much and has a hard time controlling her mouth. The magic in her blood makes her a target, and she spent most of her life hiding in plain sight.

But when Kate’s guardian is murdered, she must choose to do nothing and remain safe or to pursue his preternatural killer. Hiding is easy, but the right choice is rarely easy…

Goodreads link.

Special Mention:

1421990Flirting with the Grave…

Half-vampire Catherine Crawfield is going after the undead with a vengeance, hoping that one of these deadbeats is her father – the one responsible for ruining her mother’s life. Then she’s captured by Bones, a vampire bounty hunter, and is forced into an unholy partnership.

In exchange for finding her father, Cat agrees to train with the sexy night stalker until her battle reflexes are as sharp as his fangs. She’s amazed she doesn’t end up as his dinner – are there actually good vampires? Pretty soon Bones will have her convinced that being half-dead doesn’t have to be all bad. But before she can enjoy her newfound status as kick-ass demon hunter, Cat and Bones are pursued by a group of killers. Now Cat will have to choose a side . . . and Bones is turning out to be as tempting as any man with a heartbeat.

Goodreads link.

This is an special mention because Goodreads doesn’t count it as Urban Fantasy but for me it kind of is,so…

These are ones of my fav Urban Fantasy and Fav Series in general and I hope you might be interested in any of them! Of course I enjoy these a lot!

What I look in a Urban Fantasy book (my taste here):

Strong female character. Who can fight and be sweet at the same time.

Strong male character. Again, he has to be strong, fight (not necessarily physical way), sweet and sexy 😉

Action + romance. I love this combination.

And, as the name says, fantasy.

I think, all the books above have these components, which is why I like them so much. But again, all these is my taste in urban fantasy.

If you have any Urban Fantasy recommendations, definitely let me know about that book because as I have said 1000000 times, I love Urban Fantasy, I love discovering new series and books I might love!

Let me know if you have read any of these and what you thought about them. Or if you are planning to read any or you are interested in them.

I hope you enjoyed this post!

11

firma

 

 

7 thoughts on “perfectioninbooks Recommends #3: Urban Fantasy

  1. WAIT! Were you the one who praised Halfway to the Grave in a previous post?? I remember seeing someone recommend it and I read it all (if you were THANK YOU!). I definitely think it’s right alongside Urban Fantasy.

    Le gusta a 1 persona

    1. Yep, that was me (or at least I think, we talked about it in one of my previous post) 😀 Ohhh!!! I’m so happy you read it! And liked it! It’s so good to find someone who likes it! I don’t know if you have read any of the other series I recommend in this post, but I hope you like one of them! Definitely let me know if you read any of these! They are so good!

      Me gusta

Responder

