Review: Curse of the Sphinx (English)

 

curse

Remember these are just my thoughts and my opinions. Maybe we agree or maybe we don’t. Share with me your opinion! Respect everyone and other opinions.

25905676How long can a monster stay hidden in plain sight?

Seventeen year-old Hope Nicholas has spent her entire life on the run. But no one is chasing her. In fact, no one even knows she exists. With her mom, she’s traveled from town to town and school to school, barely staying long enough to meet anyone, let alone make friends. And she’ll have to keep it that way. It’s safer.

When her mother is brutally ripped away from her, Hope’s life shatters. Is this the fulfillment of Apollo’s curse, murder from the shadow monsters of the Underworld, or have the demigods finally found her? Orphaned and alone, Hope flees again, but this time there’s no one to teach her who to trust—or how to love.

Set in a universe where mythology is alive and well in the modern world, Curse of the Sphinx irresistibly blends action, suspense and romance.

Goodreads link.

Amazon link.

Pages: 344

Published: August 11th 2015

4 flores

Fast and enjoyable read.

The Writing:
I really liked the writing. The Prologue and Epilogue are from Athan’s POV and the rest of the book is from Hope’s POV. It’s a great structure but I would have liked to read what was going on with Athan, because since de prologue you know who he is and you don’t have that mystery that you would have if you didn’t know his identity. So, it would had been great to read more of his POV but it’s good that you are kind of blinded of his actions.
I had this problem at the beginning because under each ‘Chapter X’ there is a countdown and at the first moments until I got to page 50 or something like that I didn’t understand them. Then I got it and everything was fine.

I read this really quickly but enjoyed it a lot.

The Story:
I definitely liked the story.
I love mythology and this book definitely has that.
This book is set in a kind of a real present but at the same time for me it didn’t feel like that. Starting with people having mythology classes (which is so cool and I definitely want to have them) but last time I checked, we don’t have that class (sadly). And we don’t walk and say like ‘For Hades…’ or name other Greek Gods. So, as it felt like present at the same time it didn’t.
Through the book there are some riddles between Hope and other character and I really liked them! I’m not good with them but they are entertaining.
One of the things that made the book different is that the story is not about gods or their sons/daughters, it’s about other mythological creature. There are gods involved? Yes, but not that much. There are demi-gods involved? Yes. Do I mind reading about anything mytological related? Nop.
Talking about the romance. There is romance in here. It’s a bit slow but that was great for me. Maybe some people can find it a bit frustrating but that didn’t happen to me so, I’m good with that.
There is some action but a bit more wouldn’t be bad.
Overall, I really liked the plot.
About the ending, I would have liked to have a more intense ending. However it wasn’t bad and it definitely leaves you wanting more.

The Characters:
•Hope: She was good. I understand why she pushes people away, and why is so hard for her to trust and talk to others.
•Athan: I knew who he was, from the beginning, but his actions and why he did most of the things were a mystery and that made him a mystery. Which made him interesting. I really liked his personality and how he was with Hope, it was so sweet. They are a sweet couple.
•Haley: I liked her because she made Hope go out and interact with others. What I didn’t like is that she couldn’t keep her mouth shut. She couldn’t keep secrets.
•Tristan: We don’t really read a lot about him but he was good with Hope and friendly so I liked him.
•Krista: I hated her. She was so exasperating and frustrating!

This is a good YA, with romance a bit of action and a lot of mythology.

Quotes:

“Life wasn’t meant to be lived in perfect safety. Living was all about risks, love, loss, joy, pain, sorrow, and triumph. Hiding was a shallow existence, it wasn’t living.”

“Death isn’t evil. It just is.”

“Having friends can be wonderful. But humans fear what is different.”

About the author:

Raye Wagner grew up in Seattle, the second of eight children, and learned to escape chaos through the pages of fiction. As a youth, she read the likes of David Eddings, Leon Uris, and Jane Austen. Inspired by a fictional character, Raye pursued a career in nursing, thinking to help the world one patient at a time.
One summer afternoon, when her then young children were playing in the pool, a plot dropped into her head, and she started writing.
She enjoys baking, puzzles, Tae Kwon Do, and the sound of waves lapping at the sand. She lives with her husband and three children in Middle Tennessee.

Origin of the Sphinx, a novella detailing the story leading up to the creation of the mythological creature, is her first publication. It is the beginning of the Sphinx series.

Curse of the Sphinx, the first book in the series, is completed, and set to be released in August 2015.

Goodreads. Website. Twitter.

 

6 thoughts on “Review: Curse of the Sphinx (English)

  1. It would be awesome to have mythology classes and we should start saying the Geek Gods names (Sorry I’m just really into this) 😛 I really like what you said about Hope, I think I’d like her 🙂 Great review, Aldii ❤ and you always pick fabulous quotes! This book is definitely going to my wishlist

    Le gusta a 1 persona

Responder

