Review: Crystallum (English)

crystallum

27705018Kadence Sparrow wasn’t born a devil’s child-she was turned into one. Now, she’s hiding from the truth, and running for her life.

For years, Kade’s true nature has lurked behind an illusion, so when her dad gets another job transfer, she knows the drill: no close friends, no boyfriends, and most importantly: don’t expose what she is. Ever. Keeping secrets is easy. Lies are second nature. So is the loneliness-and the fear, but when the Shadows attack, and Kade meets Cole Spires, she could expose everything she’s trying to hide.

As one of the Celestial Children, Cole lives by an oath: defend the Ward, protect the Primordial race, guard the gateways, and stick to his own. Everything else is a distraction, and besides, he’s lost enough. Cole’s job is clear, and no one his age does it better. So, when he meets Kade in a club downtown, he assumes she just wants his attention. Most girls do, but Cole soon realizes … Kade isn’t like most girls.

The children of heaven and hell are living among us, fighting an age-old war. And falling for someone from the opposition is not an option. But a chance encounter between Kade and Cole will blur the rules, as Kade’s journey to keep her truth hidden catapults them together and into a web of lies, forcing her to not only face the demon inside her, but to answer the hardest question of all.

Which is thicker-blood or water?

Goodreads link.

Amazon link.

Pages: 336

Published October 26th 2015

*I was provided a copy of this book from Xpresso Book Tours in exchange of a honest review*

4 flores

The Writing:
I really enjoyed the writing, it was easy to understand and the way things were explained was great. We read mostly from Kade’s POV but there are some other parts were we get other POV’s from different characters.

The Story:
When I started this book I just felt this kind of Shadowhunters world mixed with a bit of the Sweet trilogy vibe. Which is not bad at all in my opinion.
We have Primoris and Primevas, two sides of a same team but they don’t get on well with each other. These are kind of angels but not, I think protectors is a good word and they fight against demons. This is just a simple way because this story has many more things and creatures that I won’t talk about. Why? Because the good thing about this, one of the exciting parts of this is discovering and understanding the world while reading the book. All I’ll say about this world is that I liked it, I found it interesting and well explained.
Now, talking about romance. I loved the romance in here! It’s an example of romance in YA (or at least when I think of romance in YA something like this comes to my mind). Nothing that we haven’t seen before but I loved it anyway. We could say that in a way there is a love triangle but I think if you pay attention at the book we’ll agree that there is no love triangle and there is one guy, and the other,well,he’s there but there is no chemistry or feelings (from one side)
Overall, I like the story and the romance (a lot) but I can’t say it’s something absolutely new. However, I really had a great time while reading this. So much fun, romance and some action. And I definitely want to read the next book because the ending left me intrigued!

The Characters:
•Kade: She has had a difficult life. Hiding all time, having no friends, no family other than her father. Her situation has definitely a development. I don’t think she grows as a character but I think she will have time for that in the next book. This book for her was about finding out a new world and what she really is (plus falling in love).
•Cole: I loved him. He is this arrogant,cocky,smart mouth,sexy,sweet and shy boy. He is one of the best Primori ever and he knows it. He’s just great.
•Danny,G,Lindsey: I really like them all. They are great friends. I wasn’t sure if I liked G and Lindsey at the beginning but then I just find them great and good friends. Danny is like a brother for Cole and that’s great. They are there for each other.
•Jake: I don’t think he is bad at all. I like him. But he is not Cole, anyway, you are great too Jake!
•Plumb: I really liked her. She is like the mother in the Brotherhood and for Cole. She was so sweet!

I definitely liked this story, their characters and relationships. Is not ‘nothing I’ve never seen before’ but I enjoyed it a lot. Do I recommend this? Definitely! I hope you give this an opportunity. And I can’t wait to read the next one.

Quotes:

“Everyone is looking for someone”

“What her favorite color was, her favorite song. What movies she liked, books she’d read, food she ate. All the little details that seem so simple, meaningless, until someone realizes that they don’t know any of them. All the details that bring a person to life.”

About the author:

I write young adult dark urban fantasy mixed with a spike of paranormal romance, a touch of history, and a dash of mythology. I’m a dreamer, an over thinker, and a myths and legends believer. Nothing moves me more than writing fantastical stories. And reading them.

I am the author of:

The Fire Born Novels, TIED, TORN & TRUE

The Primordial Principles, CRYSTALLUM, book 1, November 2015

 

 

10 thoughts on “Review: Crystallum (English)

Responder

