Review: Stygian (English)

stygian

25843005Jeremy has been isolated and adrift since the death of his brother. Most people just see him as the skinny emo kid who wears eyeliner and plays drums. No one gets him. Nobody tries. He thought the indie rock band Stygian would become his anchor, but—lost in their own problems—they’re far from the family he sought.

Still, hoping to get close to Kennedy, the band’s enigmatic guitarist, he follows Stygian to northern Louisiana for a summer retreat. They had planned to spend six weeks focusing on new music but things go awry as soon as they arrive at the long-deserted Caroway mansion. Tempers flare, sexual tension boils over into frustration, and Jeremy turns away from the band to find a friend in his eerily beautiful landlord Hunter Caroway.

Kennedy suspects there’s something off about the creepy mansion and its mysterious owners, but Jeremy thinks he’s finally found somewhere he fits. It isn’t until Kennedy forces the Caroway’s secrets into the light that Jeremy realizes belonging sometimes comes with a price.

Goodreads link.

Amazon link.

Pages: 204

Published: October 26th 2015

*I was provided a copy of this book from Xpresso Book Tours in exchange of a honest review*

This cover is so beautiful! What do you think?

3 flores y media

*3.7 stars*

I had a good surprise with this one.

The Writing:
The writing was good, we read all from Jeremy’s POV. I was surprised with swear words that it has but it makes sense with the atmosphere of the book, that it’s for people with 17 years or more.

The Story:
The story was good. This is so short. For me it was a fast read that I enjoyed a lot. But I believe the story could be a bit more developed. Maybe it’s just me wanting to read more of these characters but I just feel like all the themes the author chose had more things to give. The characters can give a lot. Playing with the past, which has an important role and the present would have been amazing too.
As it is the book, it’s not bad at all, I really really enjoyed it but I still feel that way.
The first sentence of this review is because it was more complicated and paranormal than I thought it would be and I liked that, but I still have the word ‘more’ in my mind.
I liked the mystery and suspense that goes through the book.

The Characters:
We have: Jeremy, Kennedy, Watts and Quince. Kennedy was so sweet! I just loved him. Jeremy and Watts are the ones who have more psychological troubles and that shows in different ways in the book. I liked them, Jeremy from the beginning and Watts has his own moments where I liked him. I don’t think I know Quince that much.
The relationship between Jeremy and Kennedy is beautiful, I loved it, I loved seeing them together but we don’t get a lot of that. I want to read more of them.
I don’t like the relationship between Watts and Quince but I think they could work together. First they need to solve some of their own issues but when that happens? I can totally see a good and healthy relationship there.
Hunter and Laurel: They were the mystery of this story and I didn’t like them.

Overall, I enjoyed this, the characters and relationships. I just think this could have been more and I want more.

About the author:

Santino Hassell was raised by a conservative family, but he was anything but traditional. He grew up to be a smart-mouthed, school cutting grunge kid, then a transient twenty-something, and eventually transformed into an unlikely romance author.

Santino writes queer romance that is heavily influenced by the gritty, urban landscape of New York City, his belief that human relationships are complex and flawed, and his own life experiences.

To learn more about Santino you can follow him on:

Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/author/santino…
Twitter: @santinohassell
Facebook: theonlysonnyhassell | santinohassellbooks
Instagram: santinohassell
Newsletter:http://santinohassell.com/newsletter/

And at his official website: http://bit.ly/16sgcSu

 

One thought on “Review: Stygian (English)

Responder

