Review: Soul Breaker (English)

sb

                                                                                   There’s a hideous monster on the loose, crushing heads and taking names.27152521
But Detective Calvin Kinsey is on the case!

Two years ago, Cal Kinsey was an up-and-coming cop in the Aurora Police Department. But during a fateful nighttime stakeout in search of a prolific killer, Cal witnessed the darkest corner of his dreams come to life. A rogue vampire slaughtered his partner — to put it nicely — and introduced Cal to the supernatural world he never knew existed in the shadows.

Now, Cal is a newly minted detective at the often mocked Department of Supernatural Investigations. By day, the agents of DSI are called “Kooks” by local law enforcement. By night, they’re known as “Crows,” reviled by the supernatural underworld.

Mere weeks out of the academy, Cal catches his first real case, a vicious murder at a local college. An unknown sorcerer has summoned a powerful creature from the Eververse, a realm of magic and mayhem that borders Earth, and set it on a dangerous warpath through the city.

Between butting heads with his grumpy team captain, stirring up ill will with the local wizards and witches, and repeatedly getting the crap beaten out of himself, Cal must find a way to stop the Eververse monster and send it back to the hell it came from…

…preferably before Aurora, Michigan runs out of coffins for the dead.

Goodreads link.

Amazon link.

*I was provided a copy of this book from Xpresso Book Tours in exchange of a honest review*

4 flores

I really really enjoyed this!

The Writing:
I really enjoyed the writing. This was a fast easy read very entertaining. It’s all form Cal’s POV. I liked that the first sentence of each chapter was in a way a sum up of what will happen,it made me intrigued and wanted to read more.

The Story:
In a way, I had some Kate Daniels vibe with a bit of Night Huntress, just some small vibes. Why? Because of the world and the characters.
I liked the story. I think the world is great, is in a present day were the DSI are like the cops of supernatural things. Cal, the main character is in his first DSI case which will be a big one. It’s just this big case through the book and how it evolves and ends.
There is mythology here, Etruscan mythology and the best thing is that I have never read it before, not in a book not anywhere and now I know a bit about it! I love when that happens! I think that the author chose great mythology because it’s something that not many books have and that makes the book unique.
There is humour here, not a lot but some here and there.
About the romance, I don’t feel like there is a romance in here. Erica and Cal have some ‘connection’ but more in a physical way, I don’t feel like it’s anything more than that. I don’t dislike her, I would say I like her and I like her with Cal but as a friend. I ship Cooper and Cal, a lot, but I don’t know if it’ll happen. Again, there is no romance here.

The Characters:
Cal: He reminded me a bit of Kate Daniels because he is reckless and that put him in many dangerous situations. I liked him, his humour, he’s clever and he’s sure of who he is and accepts it. Maybe he is a bit too reckless.
Cooper: I liked him. He is nice and shy in some situations. I want to know him better because I feel like he can be an amazing character.
Erica: I like her. She know what she wants. She is clever and powerful.
Ella: I feel like she can be a great friend for Cal and a big sister too.

This is a great book. Entertaining, fast paced with action and mythology.

Quotes:

“You’re a human being, just like the rest of us, and from time to time, you will stumble. What matters isn’t that you fall-it’s that you get back up and keep going.”

About the author:

Clara Coulson is a recent college graduate who lives in the heart of Maryland, right outside DC. From the cozy single room of her far-too-expensive apartment, she spends most of her (admittedly little) free time writing, editing, formatting, and, of course, reading books.

When Clara’s not spending 99% of her time doing book-related things, she can usually be found watching TV from her couch, stuffing her face with popcorn at the local movie theater, or surfing the shadowy corners of the internet, like Tumblr and Pinterest. If all else fails, you can almost certainly find her watching cat videos on Youtube.

Goodreads. Website.

One thought on “Review: Soul Breaker (English)

Responder

