Review: Omnilogos + Discussion (You don’t need to read the book to participate!)

omnilogos

26632892“I am a collector of hopes and peregrine truths, a shepherd of thoughts, ideas, projects and dreams too important not to be realized. I’m an abstract concept that has no body, no smell, no boundaries, no shape and no color.
I am the Omnilogos.”

So it is forged, a Science Fiction saga that gave birth to a legend, a tale about the life of a man with one project that will change mankind’s future forever.
Ten stories about his life, his sorrow, and his quest to gather the resources and the people needed to claim our place among the stars.

This is Wei’s story.

This is the world of the Omnilogos.

Goodreads link.

Amazon link.

*I was provided a copy of this book from the author in exchange of a honest review*

3 flores y media

*3.75/5 stars* It’s difficult for me to rate this book, 4 stars I feel too much but 3 stars not enough, 3.5 seems good but it’s a bit more so here we are with 3.75, I’m too complicated? Maybe…

The Writing:
This book was different. We read from many POVs from different characters through the book. This story doesn’t happens in less than a year, or tow years, no, it’s a lot more, it’s a life time described in this book. Each chapter is in a different year from the other. This was different from evrything I have read before and reminded me when you just choose the relevant facts of different years and together they form the story. But I understand why this book is like that because if we saw all process it would be boring and complicated.

The Story:
I liked it but there are some things I’m not so sure about.
First of all, the main thing, all the ‘outer space’ related thing was really great and this is a very unique book. I have never read something like this.
There was always a mystery atmosphere here, all time, you don’t know what will hapen you are just a piece in a game you don’t know anything, you just watch and then understand.
Here comes the difficult part, I’m not sure this book is easy to read. There are many things that are a bit complicated because of the main theme. This book is for 17 or more years old not for sexual content or anything like that but because it can be very confusing and difficult to understand. The terms and stuff that appear here might not be easy for everyone. I’m sure they weren’t easy for me.

The Characters:
•Wei: I really liked him. I loved the concept of this character, the Omnilogos. One person who knows a lot and tries to change things. I didn’t know what would be his next move and he surprised me everytime. I admire him because he had his dreams and wasn’t afraid of trying to make them true, he didn’t hesitate and he did everything for them.
•There are other characters too such as Eve,Tobias,Gladia that they are important in this story. There are antagonists too. I just didn’t feel a big love for any and I didn’t hate any of them. I liked some of them more than others but that just happens.
I’m not sure Wei is the main character, maybe I should say that I feel like the main character are his projects.

I just finished this book being confused and with some doubts but I liked this and it’s a good one for sci-fi lovers.

Quotes:

“To write history is a wonderful expercience,” Wei began smiling at his audience. “It gives you a very special perspectiveon the world around you and helps you understand one very important thing: impossible is only a possibility that has not yet been discovered.”

“I am a collector of hopes and peregrine truths, a shepherd of thoughts, ideas, projects and dreams too important not to be realized. I’m an abstract concept that has no body, no smell, no boundaries, no shape and no color.
I am the Omnilogos.”

“Some answers need to be earned”

“Stardust to Stardust”

About the author:

Michele Amitrani is a young self-published author living in beautiful British Columbia. He has grown up writing of falling empires, space battles, mortal betrayals, monumental decisions and everything in between.                                                                                                         He now spends his days traveling through time and space and, more often than not, writing about impossible but necessary worlds.

Omnilogos is Michele’s debut novel and the prologue of an action packed Sci-Fi saga drenched with what some has called the sense of awe typical of Asimov’s Foundation series.

His previous Sci-Fi short story, ‘When Gold was Black’, has been praised as ‘powerful’, ‘intense and inspiring’, ‘really well-written’, and ‘original’.

Website. Goodreads. Twitter.

11

Discussion

This book inspired me to do a short discussion over the theme of space,space projects, and possibilities.

In this book there are three ‘factions’: Landists, Hyperists and Neutralist. You might be like ‘What is that?’ and here I am to explain this.

The Landists are people against space development. They think that the millions governments spend in space, machines, technology, and workers could be used for other things that earth needs more, like stop hunger, take water everywhere, help people in different ways.

The Hyperists are the supporters of space development. They believe in space, in what is out there and they want to discover it. They think that man in outer space was an amazing thing and they value the knowledge that experience gave. They think like the next step in the human development is going into space and they support and work for that.

Neutralist are the people who don’t support but don’t stand against any of these factions They are neutral.

This got me thinking, what am I? Am I a Hyperist a Landist or a Neutralist? And my answer is that I’m Divergent. Seriously, I think I’m a mix between Hyperist and Landist. They are opposite but I think they both have good things. Starting with Hyperist, I believe being in outer space is amazing, that the things human did and does related to that are amazing. I love all those things so I agree with them. However, at the same time I agree with the Landists. Governments spend so much money in stars that maybe if they tried to help other countries or the country itself with the same effort as they try to reach the stars we could live not in a perfect planet but maybe a bit better. I’m confusing, I know, but this is what I believe, a mix of both things.

I would love to know what you think about this topic, about space projects and space in general.

Are you a Landist,Hyperist or Neutralist?

firma

 

2 thoughts on “Review: Omnilogos + Discussion (You don’t need to read the book to participate!)

Responder

