perfectioninbooks Recommends #6: War and Peace (Mini Tv Series)

war

Hello everyone!

Today I’m here to recommend you this mini tv show, War and Peace.

War-and-Peace-History-Lifetime-AE-BBC-poster-2016

This is a six episode tv show, one hour per episode, based in the novel, War and Peace by Leo Tolstoi.

 

What got me into watching the first episode was the costumes, the years and the name. Then, while I watched the first episode I discovered that this was based in a book.

290979Tolstoy’s epic masterpiece intertwines the lives of private and public individuals during the time of the Napoleonic wars and the French invasion of Russia. The fortunes of the Rostovs and the Bolkonskys, of Pierre, Natasha, and Andrei, are intimately connected with the national history that is played out in parallel with their lives. Balls and soirees alternate with councils of war and the machinations of statesmen and generals, scenes of violent battles with everyday human passions in a work whose extraordinary imaginative power has never been surpassed.

The prodigious cast of characters, seem to act and move as if connected by threads of destiny as the novel relentlessly questions ideas of free will, fate, and providence. Yet Tolstoy’s portrayal of marital relations and scenes of domesticity is as truthful and poignant as the grand themes that underlie them.

Goodreads link.

As overall thoughts, I enjoyed this.

I liked the setting (time and place), I liked the costume and the actors. Some scenes and parts of the show were boring for me but then a scene I really liked came in. For me was ups and downs.

About the characters, I hated many of them. They were bad people. I had a hate to love relationship with Andrei and a love to hate relationship with Natasha . Other character I liked was Maria. Then the other characters were okay for me.

Some things happened that I didn’t expect and they were good surprises.

The end was really good!

war_peace-everyone_3539646b

Why I recommend this?

Because maybe some of you are interested by this. Maybe you didn’t know this existed until now. Maybe some of you have already seen this. I just wanted to share it with you.

11

Let me know your thoughts!

firma

 

One thought on “perfectioninbooks Recommends #6: War and Peace (Mini Tv Series)

Responder

