Review: A Lost Legacy: Awakening (English)

awakening

26314777Finn Adams thought she knew what her life had in store for her; a mundane existence of day to day life. The arrival of a stranger in town turns her world upside down. When her mother goes missing, Finn soon discovers that she is a witch and she is being hunted for her power. Ripped from the only life she’s ever known, Finn is transported across the country to Broadhaven, Maine to discover the secrets she never knew about herself, her heritage, and the tremendous power that’s been kept from her for so long. Her loyalties are tested when she learns of her true parentage and discovers she is part of a prophecy, destined to awaken an ancient power that has been lost for centuries . As she struggles to learn from her mother’s past, she is faced with the ultimate struggle of good and evil, family or friends, she must learn who she can trust and find the power within herself to stop the prophecy from coming true.

Goodreads link.

Amazon link.

Pages: 276
Published: July 9th 2015

 

*I received a copy from the author in exchange of a honest review*

3 flores y media

The Writing:
The writing was okay. This was a fast paced book and easy to read. We read all from Finn’s POV. I would like to read from Eamon’s POV too.
Oh! And I think it’s very helpful the Pronunciation Guide because some of the names are a bit difficult.

The Story:
If you like City of Bones by Cassandra Clare, you might like this.
This story has many similar things to City of Bones. Starting with mother disappeared. Crazy, bad father after his daughter. Not knowing who she really was. Tyler and Simon are quite similar. Jace and Eamon are quite protective.
But, good thing is that I like City of Bones and I liked this one.
This was a fast easy read. It has similar things to City of Bones, and because of that I can’t say it’s the most original book ever but then the book gets its own personality.
This is about Finn, a 16 year old girl who suddenly finds that weird things are happening, new guy in town and her mother is missing. Then, she finds out that she is a witch, the guy is a warlock, and her father is after her because she is powerful. The witch things, the Irish folklore and myths are what gave its personality to this book.
However, I think these things need more devolpment. This is the first book in a trilogy or series so this is an introduction, the beginning. I want to see more of the witch/warlock things and definitely more of Ireland’s folklore. It has potential so I would like to see where this story goes.
About the romance, I liked it because it’s slow burning and nothing happens. It’s like it was there and at the same time it isn’t. But it’s definitely there. I want more of it. More development. I think this is a great change for YA books.
The end was surprising in a way. I expected the big end to happen, but I didn’t expect what happened before it. I’m afraid that will change all relationships but I have faith in friendhip and love and that everything will be fine.

The Characters:
•Finn: I liked her! She was fun and honest. She wasn’t like ‘oh,no,I’m in the worst situation,why is this happening to me?’. She was more like ‘well, this is happening, let’s find the truth and train’. Of course, she missed her home, her mother and best friend but that is something normal. If she wants, she could be pretty badass. I liked that. She has character development because everything that happens makes her grow. However, I’m a bit afraid of her lasts decisions. I liked her and I hope she doesn’t change for the worst.
•Eamon: He was complicated. His mood changed so much that he was difficult to read and to catch up. Complicated to know how to act around him. But that’s all armor in my opinion. He can be really sweet and caring, he needs to protect people because of his past but that just makes him more sweet.
•Tyler: I liked him! He was fun and we didn’t read a lot of him but he seems to be so sweet. I hope we read more of him but if we do I don’t think their friendship (Finn-Tyler) will be in a good situation.
•Neely: He was so fun and easy to be friends with. I liked him!
•Deacon: At the beginning I didn’t like him a lot. I think he cares for Finn but doesn’t show it. I hope this cousin relationship gets better and better.
•Caine: Sometimes I like him, sometimes I don’t. I need to read more of him and see.

The friendship in this book is there but it’s not as visible, or main thing in here as it could be. Anyway, maybe in the next book friendship gets a new role.

Overall,this was an entertaining and enjoyable read. It’s not the most original but it gets it’s own personality. Witches, warloks, magic and myths. Not that much romance but it’s definitely there. Good characters. I want to continue this series.

About the author:

C.E Dimond is an Irish-Canadian author. She has always had a passion for literature and from a young age indulged her mind in the fantasy fiction world. As a child her bedtime stories consisted greatly of Irish folklore and songs that inspired a true love of her heritage. She has a love of World Religions, psychology, languages and history and has put all of these inspirations to work in her writing. She is an alumna of St. Mary’s Academy and studied Theatre and Film at the University of Winnipeg. Currently she lives in Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada.

Website. Goodreads. Twitter.

 

3 thoughts on “Review: A Lost Legacy: Awakening (English)

Responder

