Review: On The Verge (English)

on the

26631497Art, demons, and death. Seattle is On the Verge.

Freya is just a university student worried about grades and tuition until a gorgeous succubus interrupts her post-exam latte with a proposition: come work for her boss, Seattle’s reclusive heiress and antiquities collector Imogen Beldame. Eagerly agreeing despite a nagging feeling in the pit of her stomach, Freya finds herself swept up in a deadly quest at the behest of her psychopathic new employer. Beldame has given her until Halloween to collect three magical pigments that hold the key to crafting mesmerizing portraits that can access the Verge, a borderland on the edge of human reality, and the powerful beings that call it home.

Freya’s reluctant journey takes her to a goblin stronghold in the Cascades for the color blue, to the Seattle Underground to request the color red from Baba Yaga, and to the Fremont home of a beautifully gruesome Cambodian ahp, or spirit of the night, for the color yellow. Working together with Rusty, an enigmatically disfigured man intimately connected with the Verge, and a motley crew of mercurial demons, Freya must come up with a plan to stop Beldame and preserve the fragile balance between fantasy and reality that is at its most vulnerable on Halloween.

Can we talk about this beautiful cover?!

*I was provided a copy of this book from Xpresso Book Tours in exchange of a honest review*

3 flores y media

The Writing:
For me, this book was not an easy or fast read. I didn’t expect it to be kind of dense. I also didn’t expect it would take me so much time to read it.
We have different POVs which was good to be in the character’s minds because they are quite different.
One thing I would have liked to read more were dialogues. I wanted more of them, more direct interaction between the characters.

The Story:
If you like art, specially paintings, you will definitely enjoy this.
But this is not only about art, this is about mythological, fantasy creatures.
We follow the main character Feyre, who is searching three specific colors but to obtain them she will have to face many obstacles, all of them supernatural.
I really liked the world in this book. At the beginning it was kind of difficult to understand but I ended up really liking it. When you finish the book you understood the world, all the book is a kind of explanation. That was great because you are discovering new things everytime.
The world basically is about what humans believe. We have The Verge, the ‘line’ between our world and the supernatural world. There are all the creatures that we read in fairy tales, myths, mythology, religion, everything. If humans in that moment of time, remember them, talk about them, they have them in their culture, that is when one of the creatures becomes ‘real’ in gets into our world, the human world.
This was new for me, that humans are the ones who give life to these creatures just with their beliefs.
There are many different creatures, from Sin, to Devil, Demons ( incubus and succubus), Witches,Goblins and more supernatural creatures are mentioned.
The prologue for me was great because it was interesting, with elements that attract my atention and got me into the book from the first pages.
There were some retellings elements that were good too.

The Characters:
Feyre: I liked her. She was stubborn but not so much that I wanted to hit her. Seriously, that’s good. She didn’t want to do all things alone, she accepted help. She respected herself. I think she is a gret character.
Rusty: I liked him but at the same time I feel like I don’t know him a lot. He was very introvert, reserved and I understan why, but I don’t feel like I know him a lot. However, as I said before, I liked him, I believe he is a good person.
Ophidia: She was so frustrating. Ughh.
Beldame: Hated her. No more words needed.
Dakryma: I liked him but I didn’t know, and still don’t know if he is good or bad and that makes me insecure about him.
Now that I wrote this, I feel like and overall feeling is liking the characters but I didn’t love any of them and some of the ones that I liked I don’t know them that much.

Overall, this is an enjoyable read. For me it wasn’t a fast and easy read but I enjoyed it. The world was different and I liked it. The plot and elements were unique too. The characters are good.

Quotes:

“Who are you?

A nightmare.”

“But most of all, the snake is feared because, as all the best legends are, it is not just a story, but a reflection of the deepest, truest parts of human existence.”

“The best art is a spiritual experience that unites us once again with our true selves, and often what we see on the canvas is raw, unsettling and even disturbing, because it’s true. Art reveals to us the devine and the damned in all of us.”

About the author:

I’m a lifelong resident of Seattle. I married my Russia-born-America-raised high school sweetheart, and we have a four year old and a new little one born in February.

I like coffee shops, bookstores, dancing in my living room and singing in my car. The opening scene of Up always makes me cry. The Three Amigos always makes me laugh. Fashion magazines, croissants, and long, long baths are my guilty pleasures. They might occur separately or together. I prefer boxing classes to yoga, and I get some of my best ideas when I’m running. I loved school and spent more time than one really should getting a business degree in marketing and a master’s in art history. In an ideal world I’d go to bed at 2am and wake up at 10am. I’ve never been an early bird, and I feel strongly that alarm clocks kill dreams.

Learn more about me and read my blog, Scriven by Garen, at garenglazier.com.

Website. Goodreads. Twitter.

One thought on “Review: On The Verge (English)

Responder

