Review: Future Shock (English)

future

23536973Elena Martinez has hidden her eidetic memory all her life–or so she thinks. When powerful tech giant Aether Corporation selects her for a top-secret project, she can’t say no. All she has to do is participate in a trip to the future to bring back data, and she’ll be set for life.


Elena joins a team of four other teens with special skills, including Adam, a science prodigy with his own reason for being there. But when the time travelers arrive in the future, something goes wrong and they break the only rule they were given: do not look into their own fates.

Now they have twenty-four hours to get back to the present and find a way to stop a seemingly inevitable future from unfolding. With time running out and deadly secrets uncovered, Elena must use her eidetic memory, street smarts, and a growing trust in Adam to save her new friends and herself.

Goodreads link.

Amazon link.

Pages: 272

Expected publication: April 1st 2016

*I recived a copy from Netgalley in exchange of a honest review*

4 estrellas y media

The Writing:
I enjoyed the writing. For me this was a fast and entertaining read. It got me from the beginning and I always wanted to continue it.
This is all from Elena’s POV.
This book happens in three days or two but it just seems a lot more.

The Story:
I definitely enjoyed it!
When I saw the synopsis it just sounded a lot like Continuum a canadian TV Show that I loved and the story is about present and future and how the things we do now can change the future. So I just had to read this.
And it definitely was great!
This is about a group of five teenagers, they don’t know each other but they are all unique. Together they travel to the future to gather information about the tech in that future for the company. If they do that, they will be rich. But in this journey stuff doesn’t happen as it was planned plus they learn a lot of things that change everything.
I was quite surprised by all the things that happen here and all the action it has. You don’t rest a minute, something is always happening but that was great because it always got me asking myself: what will happen next?
The romance is there, is kind of slow and at the same time not and I really enjoyed reading it. It’s not main part of the story but it’s there and it’s great.
Other good thing about the story is that you don’t know who the real enemy is so you just keep wondering, doubt of everything and imagine everything and then, it wasn’t as I thought and that was great.
As you can imagine, there is a lot of playing around with present and future and how we can change the future or not and that is a topic I really enjoy.

The Characters:
•Elena: I liked her. Sometimes more than others but I liked her. She wasn’t the typical main character, she has a difficult past and difficult present. She has a difficult part in herself. She has a good character development and I think she learns a lot through this short but long journey.
•Adam: Adam was my type of guy in a way. If he was real, I would love to meet him. He was just a genius. And he was such a good person. I just loved his character.
•Elena and Adam: I loved this couple so much! They are so different but so good together. I just would like to read more of them together.
•Chris: At the beginning I didn’t like him but by the end I liked him. He was quite smart and when he believed something he believed it with all his heart and mind.
•Zoe: I liked her character. She was shy and didn’t trust easy. Her appearance made a great contrast with her personality.
•Trent: He was nice and good but he wasn’t my favourite character. He had a difficult life but he wanted something better. He was a difficult character.

•As a group I wasn’t sure they would work well together but they proved to be a great team.
They all live such extreme experiences that you know all the characters a lot.

Overall, I really liked the story and how the author played with the future and present. The characters weren’t typical but that was great and I enjoyed reading them.

If you like sci-fi and time travel I definitely recommend this.

Quotes:

“One theory says everything is predetermined, which means everything you do once you return to the present will lead up to this future. Even if you think you’re changing something, you won’t be. But another theory says if you change something when you get back the moment will split off and create an alternative timeline with a new future.”

“I wish I could go back and do everything over, but the only time travel to the past is regret.”

About the author:

Elizabeth Briggs is a full-time geek who writes books for teens and adults. She graduated from UCLA with a degree in Sociology, currently mentors teens in writing, and volunteers with a dog rescue group. She’s the author of the new adult Chasing The Dream series and the upcoming young adult novel Future Shock. Elizabeth lives in Los Angeles with her husband and a pack of fluffy dogs. You can connect with her online at:www.elizabethbriggs.net

Twitter. Goodreads.

 

3 thoughts on “Review: Future Shock (English)

Responder

