Review: Bad Romeo (English)

bad romeo banner

21411058When Cassie Taylor met Ethan Holt at acting school, sparks flew. She was the good girl actress. He was the bad boy about campus. But one fated casting choice for Romeo and Juliet changed it all. Like the characters they were playing, Cassie and Ethan’s romance seemed destined. Until he broke her heart and betrayed her trust. Now the A-list heartthrob is back in her life and turning her world around. One touch at a time.

Cast as romantic leads once again, they’re forced to confront raw memories of the heartbreaking lows and pulse-pounding highs of their secret college affair. But they’ll also discover that people who rub each other the wrong way often make the best sparks.

Goodreads link.

Amazon link.

*I read this as my April Book Blogger Bookclub book*

4 estrellas

This is a fun, sweet, full of romance NA novel.

The writing:
The writing was good!
From the first moment I was into the story and I didn’t want to leave it.
I really enjoyed the parallelism between past and present, and how that scene from the past had this connection to what was happening in the present. It was nice to read but I hope book two just stays in the present.

The story:
I really enjoyed this story.
First of all, I was surprised at how funny this story is, is not a comedy but it has this awkward situations and fun ones that I just couldn’t help and starting laughing out loud.
I’m an admirer of actors and actresses, I have always felt like that because I found fascinating that they can leave their skin for a while and just be an other person, feel what the characters feel and bring that story to life. I can’t act and I think that’s why I admire them so much.
This book just made me admire them more. You have a full insight of the acting world that was really good to read.
Now into the actual story. This is kind of hate-to-love thing which for me is really good. And as a NA Romance, they have some problems and all that fun (not really) stuff.
I thought this book would destroy me a lot more than it did. And I’m not sure I fully understand the ‘big’ thing that happened that led to the book. I have this idea but I’m not sure it’s the right one.
I don’t feel this is something that has never been done before but I definitely enjoyed it and highly recommend it.

The characters:
Cassie: At the beginning I didn’t like her, she was what the others wanted but if I think it I can’t judge her because we have all comitted that, the thing is to recognise it and change. Be yourself (deep moment, now over) But thankfully, she changes, and I liked her own personality, she was fun, didn’t fear what she didn’t know, she wasn’t shy at all, had hope and fought for what she wanted. That is one Cassie, but at the same time you read this shadow of what she is. It wasn’t fun and it reflected how everything affected her. However I really really hope she goes back to be a little more like her old self. She can’t be the same but I hope she can change for good.
Ethan: I loved-hated-loved-hated repeat cycle- him all time. He was very hurt and had a lot of stuff inside him that were making him take some bad choices. He has had the opposite development that Cassie. He was just a shadow of himself in the past but now he is different and trying to change. I want to believe that, at least.
I think the contrast and change between their past personalities and what they are now was really great done.
We have other characters like Ruby,Tristan and Elissa that are all great friends.

Do I want to read Broken Juliet, sequel to this?
Definitely.
Do I recommend this?
Yes!

As I said at the beginning, you will have fun times, laugh, read a lot of romance and follow these charcaters through their really complicated love story.

Quotes:

“Sometimes people put up walls, not only to keep people out, but also to see who cares enough to tear them down. Understand?”

“This is what love feels like. To no longer belong to yourself. To be pulled from what you know into what you feel. No wonder people live and die for this feeling.”

“Without passion, life is meaningless.”

“Sometimes it’s not about trying to fix something that’s broken. Sometimes it’s about starting again and building something new. Something better.”

About the author:

Writing has always been a passion for Leisa, and even though she originally intended to be an actress, it wasn’t long into her time at drama school that she began writing plays.

These days, playwriting has given way to fiction writing, and Leisa’s debut novel, BAD ROMEO, was published through Macmillan New York in December 2014. The sequel, BROKEN JULIET was released in April 2015, and the final book in Leisa’s Starcrossed series, WICKED HEART, will hit bookstores and kindles on May 3rd, 2016.

The Starcrossed series has gained hordes of passionate fans all over the world, and the books have now been translated into eight foreign languages. Bad Romeo and Broken Juliet have also featured on international best seller lists in Brazil and Germany.

Goodreads. Website. Twitter.

4 thoughts on “Review: Bad Romeo (English)

Responder

