Review: The Progeny (Paranormal/Historical Fiction)

the progeny

27221614New York Times bestselling author Tosca Lee brings a modern twist to an ancient mystery surrounding the most notorious female serial killer of all time. A fast-paced thriller for fans of Ted Dekker’s The Books of Mortals, Dan Brown’s The Da Vinci Code, and BBC America’s hit series Orphan Black.

Emily Jacobs is the descendant of a serial killer. Now, she’s become the hunted.

She’s on a quest that will take her to the secret underground of Europe and the inner circles of three ancient orders—one determined to kill her, one devoted to keeping her alive, and one she must ultimately save.

Filled with adrenaline, romance, and reversals, The Progeny is the present-day saga of a 400-year-old war between the uncanny descendants of “Blood Countess” Elizabeth Bathory, the most prolific female serial killer of all time, and a secret society dedicated to erasing every one of her descendants. A story about the search for self filled with centuries-old intrigues against the backdrop of atrocity and hope.

Goodreads link. Amazon link.

*I received a copy from NetGalley in echange of a honest review.*

4 estrellas y media

The writing:
I really enjoyed the writing. From the first moment I was into this book. So intrigued all time! The one thing I think that was good but could be better was the world. I think this world has so many things to give and I don’t think that was used at 100%. I want more of that world. But I think that in future books we will know more…

The Story:
As I already said this story is engaging from the beginning.
This has a complicated world based in a family legacy of mind powers (actually persuading) and others that their ‘legacy’ more like a mission, is to kill that family. All these because of something that happened almost 4 centuries ago.
There is a lot of mystery and intrigue. You don’t know who is being honest, who lies, who lives or dies but most important, you as a reader don’t trust in anybody. Or at least that’s what happened to me. I love doubting of everything because it’s all unexpected.
Other thing that happened to me because of this book was that I was on the edge of my seat all time. I was so nervous of everything that happened!
While it might have some moments that someone can consider a bit slow, I didn’t feel that. I think all time was something happening, maybe not all physical action, but strategy was always there.
Something that I want for the next book, is to know a bit more of the world.
Last, but not least, you can’t just end a book like that. Nope. When is book two? Why I don’t have it in my hands right now?!

The Characters:
Audra: First time I read a character with her name and I really like it! This character chose from the beginning to forget everything, her name, her personality, her life. So you can say she has a kind of regression, but then through the book I think she has some character development. But I believe she has a lot more to give, she can be an amazing female protagonist, strong, decided and a leader. I want that, and would love to read it.
Luka: He is so sweet! Where I can find my own Luka? He was so creepy but the not. And he goes through a lot. I just love him!!!
I’m not going to talk more about the characters because there are more, important to the story but not main characters that I think the best thing is to discover them yourself (and suffer like I did….)

Overall, I definitely enjoyed this. Got me from the beginning, always waiting for the next thing to happen, afraid and excited for what that could be. Great characters, I think they can give more and I can’t wait to read that.

If you like mystery, suspense with some fantasy and historical details, this is definitely for you!

About the author:

Tosca Lee is the award-winning, New York Times bestselling author of ISCARIOT; THE LEGEND OF SHEBA; DEMON: A MEMOIR; HAVAH: THE STORY OF EVE; and the Books of Mortals series with New York Times bestseller Ted Dekker (FORBIDDEN, MORTAL, SOVEREIGN). A notorious night-owl, she loves watching TV, eating bacon, playing video games with her kids, and sending cheesy texts to her husband.

You can find Tosca at ToscaLee.com, on social media, or hanging around the snack table.

Goodreads. Twitter. Website.

2 thoughts on “Review: The Progeny (Paranormal/Historical Fiction)

Responder

