Review: The Art Of Being Normal (LGBT Contemporary)

the art

25689042Two boys. Two secrets.

David Piper has always been an outsider. His parents think he’s gay. The school bully thinks he’s a freak. Only his two best friends know the real truth – David wants to be a girl.

On the first day at his new school Leo Denton has one goal – to be invisible. Attracting the attention of the most beautiful girl in year eleven is definitely not part of that plan.

When Leo stands up for David in a fight, an unlikely friendship forms. But things are about to get messy. Because at Eden Park School secrets have a funny habit of not staying secret for long…

Goodreads link. Amazon link.

*I received a copy of this book in echange of a honest review*

5 estrellas

The Writing:
I loved the writing, I just felt into this book from the first moment. Everything just went good, nothing forced I just loved it. We read from two POVs: David and Leo. It was so good to read from the two POVs because they are so different from each other, their families, their realities but at the same time so similar.

The Story:
This book is different from everything I have read before, and different in a good way. It’s a LGBT book, and if you are looking for something in this genre, I definitely recommend this.
We have David and Leo, two characters very different but slowly they form this amazing friendship. There are many secrets, things they don’t want people to find out but they wish could be said out loud.
This is a book about being who you are and feel. I don’t think it’s all about self discovering, is more of being free to be who you are and how difficult is that. This book made me think, how we are for certain things, as individuals and as society and I realised there are many things to change that I hope we can change them.
I just loved the whole story, how brave every character is and how made me think of the reality here, in my country, my city, even my school.
I cried, I laughed, I loved and admired this characters, just one book that made me feel so many things.
Oh! And something happened! I didn’t expect it at all but everything had sense after that! If you read this maybe you get what I mean 😉

The Characters:
•David: He is so sweet and brave. He doesn’t go away at the first problem. An amazing friend. An amazing person.
•Leo: He is just the quiet mystery boy in this story. He has so many secrets and they are leaving their mark. He has this strong appearence of bad guy but I think he can be so sweet and supportive, but you need to get through his shield.
•Essie and Felix: They are amazing friends. There is nothing more needed to say.

If I have to say something to finish this review I’m going to say: Go, read this book, fall in love with it as much as I did. It’s a great and different journey and let me know when you finish this so we can fangirl together. Thank you.

About the author:

Lisa was born in Nottingham in 1980. She spent most of her childhood drawing, daydreaming and making up stories in her head (but never getting round to writing them down). As a teenager she was bitten by the acting bug and at 19 moved to London to study drama at university.

Following graduation, Lisa adopted the stage name of Lisa Cassidy and spent several happy and chaotic years occasionally getting paid to pretend to be other people. Between acting roles she worked as an office temp and started making up stories all over again, only this time she had a go at writing them down.

Lisa lives near Hampstead Heath with her boyfriend Matt, where she is lucky enough to split her time between writing and acting. In her spare time she reads a lot of books, continues to daydream and eats way too much ice cream.

Goodreads. Website. Twitter.

 

8 thoughts on “Review: The Art Of Being Normal (LGBT Contemporary)

  1. I just received this book via NetGalley because I was intrigued by the premise, but you never know what you’re really going to get once you start reading. I’m excited to see such a positive review. I’m looking forward to starting it as soon as possible now. 😀

    Le gusta a 1 persona

Responder

