Confusing-But-Oh-So-Cool-World Poison Princess Review

posion

13450339She could save the world—or destroy it.

Sixteen-year-old Evangeline “Evie” Greene leads a charmed life, until she begins experiencing horrifying hallucinations. When an apocalyptic event decimates her Louisiana hometown, Evie realizes her hallucinations were actually visions of the future—and they’re still happening. Fighting for her life and desperate for answers, she must turn to her wrong-side-of-the-bayou classmate: Jack Deveaux.

But she can’t do either alone.

With his mile-long rap sheet, wicked grin, and bad attitude, Jack is like no boy Evie has ever known. Even though he once scorned her and everything she represented, he agrees to protect Evie on her quest. She knows she can’t totally depend on Jack. If he ever cast that wicked grin her way, could she possibly resist him?

Who can Evie trust?

As Jack and Evie race to find the source of her visions, they meet others who have gotten the same call. An ancient prophesy is being played out, and Evie is not the only one with special powers. A group of twenty-two teens has been chosen to reenact the ultimate battle between good and evil. But it’s not always clear who is on which side.

Goodreads link. Amazon link.

4 estrellas

I’m not sure how I feel about this book.
I liked it.
I enjoyed it.
I’m not sure I understand everything.

This book is weird, it’s different from everything I have ever read and that is amazing. Seriously. But I didn’t know if it was weird in a good way or bad way.
This book has a very complex world. I’m not even trying to explain it because I’m not sure I understand it. What I can say is that this book is unique. It has everything from zombies, slaves, cannibals to a kind of dystopian world mix with characters that have superpowers and they all are tarot cards. Yep, you read it right.
About the writing I think it was good. I read this book so fast every time I opened it. The way the story happens was original how she is talking in the past with Arthur but then you forget about that because that’s the present for you but then past and present collide and the end is here.
Talking about the characters I feel that Evie is the one with the main character development but she still has a loooong way to go. She needs to learnd lots of things not only about her powers but about life (no that I’m an expert but girl! Talking and listening is one of the keys). I loved Jack all time, there were timen when I wanted to slap him, others to hug or kiss him. He was perfect because you feel soo many emotions with him that you just end, at least, liking him.
There are other characters that I’m not sure I like, others that frustrate me and others that are fun but I’m sure that the next book will bring many new characters I can’t wait to meet.
The end was good it definitely had power and surprise.
I’m not sure all people like this, I think the best thing is to read and build your own opinion.
I will definitely read the next one!

Quotes:

“Remember my titles? I don’t get poisoned,I do the poisoning.I’m the princess of it.”

About the author:

Kresley Cole is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of the electrifying Immortals After Dark paranormal series, the young adult Arcana Chronicles series, the erotic Gamemakers series, and five award-winning historical romances.

A master’s grad and former athlete, she has traveled over much of the world and draws from those experiences to create her memorable characters and settings.
Her IAD books have been translated into twenty foreign languages, garnered three RITA awards, and consistently appear on the bestseller lists, in the U.S. and abroad.

Cole lives in Florida with her family and “far too many animals.” You can learn more about Kresley at www.kresleycole.com.

Goodreads. Twitter.

One thought on “Confusing-But-Oh-So-Cool-World Poison Princess Review

Responder

