Greek Mythology Retelling | Review Time: Prophecy

p ban

28425425A hidden prophecy. A chosen princess who speaks with snakes. A family duty. Sixteen year old Princess Antigone, daughter of the infamous ancient Greek King Oedipus, wants to lead a normal life and fulfill her duty to the gods, her city, and her family, but fate has other plans. The Olympian gods bless her, the snakes talk to her, her parents want her to marry a foreign prince, her embroidery looks like burial shrouds for dogs, and she has fallen in love with the wrong boy. When the mysterious and devastating prophecies surrounding her family are revealed, Antigone must choose where her allegiance lies: With the gods who have betrayed her family but who she is obliged to serve? With her plague ridden city? With her family which lay in ruins? Or even with herself?

In Prophecy, Book One of the Antigone: The True Story series, Antigone steps out of the shadows of the past to tell her own story, a story where truth of history is stranger than the fiction of myth.

Goodreads link. Amazon link.

3.5

I was provided a copy of this book in exchange of a honest review.

The Writing:
The writing was okay. The chapters were too short but that´s not something that affects my opinion that much. However, it felt dragged a bit, it was slow to read some moments. It just felt like a slow book for me, not what I was expecting. We read all from one POV, maybe Haemon´s POV would be interesting to read.

The Story:
I have read Antigone´s mith, for my literature class and I have to say that I enjoyed it. That gave me some previous knowledge to read this and I could appreciate much more what the author added to the story as her ´touch´. There is all this powers with snake which was pretty cool, let´s be honest and different, because from where the story was set she might have chosen some element as superpower, but the author didn´t do that.
When the Gods appeared and talked was cool too.
My main problem with the story was how slow it was for me.
I love mythology so I appreciated all the story in those aspects.

The Characters:
Antigone: I wasn´t a big fan of her but now I like her a bit more. She is still reckless and sometimes stupid for me.
Haemon: He was sweet! I wish I could have read more of him!
Ismene: She is the good sister, she follows every step and does everything so right. A bit frustrating that might be but that is just her personality. She is the reasonable voice.
I don´t feel like I really know the other characters,I just feel like I know Antigone. She can have a great character development and I think all these characters can get their own moment in other books and we get to know them better.

Overall it was an okay book. It has a good world and powers, though as it´s a work of fiction it might have other things that make the story more appealing.

About the author:

My name is Coreena McBurnie and, ever since grade 5 when I had to do a report on Theseus and the Minotaur, I have had a soft spot for Greek mythology. When I hit university, I was drawn to the Classical Studies department (earning both a BA & MA), where I explored the archaeology and culture of the ancient Greek and Roman worlds — and also where I managed to read Homer’s Odyssey, one of my absolute favourite books, in the original Greek, something which was thrilling for me (I know, sounds crazy, but the poetry and scope of the original text is amazing). After a lifetime of “what is that?”, “why did you study that?”, and “what can you do with a degree in Classical Studies?” I have decided to write novels based in ancient myth and to bring so many of the stories I love to life for a modern audience, with my own spin, of course.

Prophecy, Book 1 in the Antigone Series, is my first published novel. Currently I am working on Book 2 in the Antigone Series, called Fate. I am also in the middle of another novel about Clytemnestra who is notorious in Greek myth for killing her husband, Agamemnon, when he returned home from the Trojan War. I love exploring the motives of strong women in ancient myth.

I live in BC, Canada with my husband, our three kids, and our cat, in a beautiful part of the country, on two rivers, surrounded by ranches, near ski hills, and only a couple of hours drive to the ocean

Goodreads. Twitter. Website.

One thought on “Greek Mythology Retelling | Review Time: Prophecy

Responder

