I’m asking myself ‘why I waited for so long?’ | Review: Unhidden (English)

unhidden banner

22753787It’s not always easy to differentiate between the good guys and the bad guys, especially when your heroine is a trained killer and she may be falling in love with her evil hunter…

Emma Hayes, a former military Special Forces Operative turned mercenary-for-hire, finds her tightly controlled world turned upside down when she is attacked by horrible monsters.

Emma must use every skill in her arsenal to stay alive as she tries to solve the mystery of why she has been targeted. Her list of enemies keeps growing – from Zane Shayde, an evil Mage, to a secret branch of the US government – and she doesn’t know if there is anyone left she can trust.

To complicate matters further, Emma is inexplicably drawn to Zane in a way she doesn’t quite understand, even knowing her life is forfeit if captured. Who is he and why does he have this affect on her? How can she fight a being that calls to her, body and soul?

Emma is left haunted by questions, doubts and fears as to why she has been targeted, when they will come for her next, and how she will possibly be able to survive against an enemy she doesn’t understand.

Goodreads. Amazon.

*I received a copy of this book through Netgalley*

4 estrellas

I finally read this and I have to say that I’m asking myself ‘why did I not read it sooner?’

The Writing:
I have to say that I enjoyed the writing, this was a fast paced book that got me interested all time. We read from Emma’s POV all time, I enjoyed that but now that I know the other characters I want to read from other character perspective (Zane) and that would be so interesting.

The Story:
When I asked for this copy I read the blurb and found it interesting, because I requested it. Though I think that has been a year ago. I didn’t remember what this was about and I didn’t read the blurb before reading it.
Maybe because of that this story surpirsed me.
The world the book presents is quite big, with these I mean that we have a lot of creatures in it, and worlds/universes too. I liked that, that everyone was different and that we knew different things about the species.
This book is a lot about learning truths, facing the past and learning about yourself, not in a lyrical way, it about finding who you are, your life.
We find Emma, an asassin who was in coma and before that she knows nothing, she has no family, just two friends and her job. When one of her jobs goes wrong everything starts to change, we meet new characters, we find the creatures and magic.
I enjoyed the story, didn’t have any trouble with it, as I said I enjoyed the creatures, I enjoyed the action and the romance.
This has a kind of impossible-that-I-really-hope-is-possible love and I enjoyed to read it so much because I wanted it to happen but its so difficult! It’s not a main thing in the plot but it’s important.
Action from the beginning to the end.

The Characters:
•Emma: I really liked her. She was a great fighter, she didn’t play with the people around her and she is loyal to the bone. She wasn’t also the main character who just thinks of herself or just can’t see a bigger situation than her own mind. She thought of others, of what would happen, of consequences. And I enjoyed that!
•Zane: You have me so intrigued. Omg. I just need to know more, to read more about him. My baby ♥
•Alex: I really like him. He can be such a great bff and I hope he becomes that.
There are a lot of characters, some I doubt we can trust, some good guys, bad guys and those we can’t trust.

Overall, I really enjoyed this urban-fantasy, I really recommend it if you like that genre. Lots of action, creatures, strategy, badass main character, and an impossible/difficult love.

QUOTE WITH SPOILER

.

.

Quote:

Born of an evil man, loved by an insane man, defined by my job as a killer, and yet, the unlikely savior of humanity.

About the author:

Dina Given lives in rural New Jersey – home of farms, horses and the largest hot air balloon festival in North America – with her husband, two crazy kids, and one rescue dog. She is an exercise enthusiast and avid lover of food and wine (hence the need to exercise). Dina also works full time for one of the largest healthcare companies in the world. She attributes her ability to juggle family, work and writing to her obsessive, hyper-focused, Type A personality.

Goodreads. Website.

One thought on “I’m asking myself ‘why I waited for so long?’ | Review: Unhidden (English)

Responder

