If you enjoy mythology then you definitely need to give this a try. | Review: Son of Set

son banner
Son of SetSon of Set (Descendants of Isis #2)
by Kelsey ketch
Genre: Fantasy
Age category: Young Adult
Release Date: May 2, 2014

Blurb:
“. . . the Sons would never just let him go—alive.”

Seth O’Keefe has broken the laws of his god. He never thought he would sacrifice his own future to protect a Daughter of Isis. But when the Sons of Set discovered Natti is the Secret Keeper, he had no choice. Now, Seth and Natti are on the run from his father, who wants nothing more than to see Seth dead. With no allies, Seth turns to the Daughters of Isis for help, hoping they would protect Natti. But when they meet the Daughters, he discovers a secret that puts both their lives in more danger. Low on options, Seth sees only one possibility for survival. He must help Natti solve an ancient puzzle and find the secret name of Ra.

Natara “Natti” Stone is having a hard time swallowing the truth. She can’t believe what she has learned in the past twenty-four hours: Seth is a Son of Set blessed with charm; she is a Daughter of Isis blessed with a sliver of Ma ‘at; the locket her grandmother gave her holds an ancient Egyptian secret linking to Osiris and Isis. That along with being tortured and brutalized by the Sons of Set, she can hardly hold herself together. Thank God for Seth’s touch! That warm, tingling sensation that drowns it all out. Yet her heart struggles to stay focused. She must quickly embrace her destiny before the secret name of Ra falls into the wrong hands.

*Note: Content for Upper YA*

You can find Son of Set on Goodreads

You can buy Son of Set here:
Amazon
Barnes & Noble
Kobo
Smashwords

4 estrellas

It has been almost a year since I read the first book but I enjoyed this so much!

The Writing:
I really like the writing, I enjoy reading this and always want to know more. There are many POVs through this book, the times we read from Sean’s POV I just wanted to go back to Seth and Natti but I understand that for the story is great to see Sean’s POV but I still wanted to be all time with Seth and Natti.

The Story:
Since it has been a long time I read this, I was afraid I would have forgotten everything or wouldn’t enjoy the story. Being honest, I had forgotten lots of things but I remembered the main things of the plot and as I began reading this second book I remembered more stuff. Thankfully, the second thing didn’t happen. I enjoyed this story a lot!
First off, let me tell you that if you enjoy mythology then you definitely need to give this a try. I just love how this story has mythology in <i>everything</i> Since I’m a lover of mythology I really enjoyed it.
Then, we have this great romance. It’s not an obvious romance, it’s quite complicated and they fall for each other slowly, facing all obstacles. I loved that. Nothing is rushed, just everything goes at their pace.
There is quite a lot of action here, which I enjoyed not being too much but not missing them.
Lastly I want to say that there were a few things we discovered at the end that surprised me and I’m really curious to read the next book.
This is an adventure story, with romance and a lot of mythology.

The Characters:
•Natti: I didn’t remember her well and was afraid I wouldn’t like her, that she would frustrate me but I’m so happy that didn’t happen. I would say other thing, I really like her. She is down to earth, she listens while she has her own voice. I really enjoyed reading her.
•Seth: I like him though there is still a lot going on for him. He made a big difficult choice but he stands with what he did. He doesn’t fear and he loves with all his heart. The only thing I would say is that he needs to listen Natti more but by the end of the book I think he gets that.
Both of these characters will go thorugh a lot in the next book and I really want to read that.
•Sean: The big villain here, I just can’t stand him, hate him. Just ugh.

So, as I said, this is an adventure story with romance and full of mythology. A main female character that is decided, thinks about others while having her own voice that will grow in the next book in powers and her personality. A main male character that is a cutie when he wants, sexy all times but that has some though times in the future.
Do I want to read the next book? Definitely.

KelseyAbout the Author:
During her high school years, Kelsey Ketch could always be found tucked away in a little corner of the hall or classroom, writing her fantasy worlds and creating illustrations and maps. Today is no different, except now she’s writing in the break room at her office building or at the tables of the Barnes and Noble Café in Cary, North Carolina. She is also an avid reader, a part-time book blogger at Ketch’s Book Nook, and lives with her two orange tabbies and awesome and humorous flat-mate.
For more information, please visit her site at kelseyketch.com.

You can find and contact Kelsey here:
Website
Facebook
Twitter
Goodreads


banner Lola's Blog Tours

One thought on “If you enjoy mythology then you definitely need to give this a try. | Review: Son of Set

Responder

