If you like Japanese settings, stories and fantasy…| Review: A Mortal Song

aa

30376044Sora’s life was full of magic–until she discovered it was all a lie.

Heir to Mt. Fuji’s spirit kingdom, Sora yearns to finally take on the sacred kami duties. But just as she confronts her parents to make a plea, a ghostly army invades the mountain. Barely escaping with her life, Sora follows her mother’s last instructions to a heart-wrenching discovery: she is a human changeling, raised as a decoy while her parents’ true daughter remained safe but unaware in modern-day Tokyo. Her powers were only borrowed, never her own. Now, with the world’s natural cycles falling into chaos and the ghosts plotting an even more deadly assault, it falls on her to train the unprepared kami princess.

As Sora struggles with her emerging human weaknesses and the draw of an unanticipated ally with secrets of his own, she vows to keep fighting for her loved ones and the world they once protected. But for one mortal girl to make a difference in this desperate war between the spirits, she may have to give up the only home she’s ever known.

Goodreads.

*I received a copy of this book through Netgalley in exchange of a honest review*

4 estrellas

Really liked this book, it’s as beautiful inside as it’s outside. And I’m saying this because the first thing that drew my attention was the cover, isn’t it beautiful?

The Writing:
I liked the writing this was a book I could read and entertain from the first moment. I never got bored or felt dragged. Though we read from one POV we have a very observant girl so we get to know the other characters from her perspective.

The Story:
I don’t usually read Japanese folklore so this was a great change for me! The setting was a great change too.
This book mixes magic, different magical creatures, death, a bit of mafia, saving the world and great stries of love.
The couples I thought would disappear and appear, didn’t, that was great because it wasn’t a predictable book. I also didn’t feel the romance t be too important or to be a romantic book with an adventure. It was an adventure book with romance. Sweet and caring romances that g through a lot in this book so it’s great to see them through all this.
The character development in this book is really important, I just think one of our ‘main’ characters doesn’t have a character development but the others go through a process.
We usually see in fantasy book the human girl who out of nowhere gets magical powers, though this book has a bit of that it’s also the opposite. Sora, our main character, believes she has magic, but she doesn’t and that is a big shock for her.
I liked what Sora learns about being human, brave and strong, that there are other types of magic and things, we can change things it doesn’t matter what we are.
The story in itself was good, I don’t think it has something we have never seen but it was a great mix of things we have seen.

The Characters:
•Sora: I really liked her. She could have been a ‘spoilt’ girl, just crying because she wasn’t what she believed, because her world was falling apart. But she didn’t. She of course had some difficult times but she got through them and helped as much as she could. She has sometimes a hero complex but there were few times because she analyzed each situation realising how much se could help or make a situation worse.
•Takeo: I liked him but I couldn’t see any real development in his character. He was like that.
•Keiji: I called him in my head Kenji all time, but this is not Shatter Me people, don’t do that. I liked him, he was a good guy. Kind of shy but funny and very brave.
•Chiyo: She got to my nerves many times. She meant good but stop. I don’t know, I liked her but I couldn’t connect or imagine myself being with her more than 20 mins.
•Haru: He was brave, I liked him though we really don’t get to know him. He helped as much as he could and had such a beautiful relationship with Chiyo.

I think this is a great fantasy, it’s just one book but I think it’s great done, has some great characters and a good story. If you like Japanese settings, stories and fantasy you should definitely read this.

Quotes:
“To the dancers and the dreamers”
“Being human, the answers aren’t obvious. You have to choose whether you do the difficult thing or the easy thing. It takes a lot more courage to do the difficult thing you don’t have to do, that scares you.”
“Because he was human, and that was what being human meant, wasn’t it? Changing, all time.”
“The one truth I know is, we can’t help but be the way we are.”
“I’d found other sort of magic. The knowledge that strengths could be weakness, and weakness strengths.”
3 thoughts on “If you like Japanese settings, stories and fantasy…| Review: A Mortal Song

Responder

