A bit of a disappointment. | Review: Children of Icarus

ch

29065483It is Clara who is desperate to enter the labyrinth and it is Clara who is bright, strong, and fearless enough to take on any challenge. It is no surprise when she is chosen. But so is the girl who has always lived in her shadow. Together they enter. Within minutes, they are torn apart forever. Now the girl who has never left the city walls must fight to survive in a living nightmare, where one false turn with who to trust means a certain dead end.

Goodreads.

Amazon.

 

*I received a copy of this book through Netgalley in exchange of a honest review*

3 estrellas

A bit of a disappointment.

The writing:
The writing was okay, it was a mythological/fantasy read. I wouldn’t call it an easy or fast paced read, I think it can feel dragged.

The Story:
This was a great idea. Each year some children/teenagers between 10 and 16 years old are choosen, randomly, to become Icarii. Icarii are the ones who go into the labyrinth and once they get out they go to Alyssia and become angels. Now writing this review that sounds a bit like The Hunger Games, doesn’t it? But anyway, it sounds great. Icarus is their main God and they have this mythology around his story and him. When they go into the labyrinth things are not as they were told.
Being honest, maybe the story was great done but I can’t say because I really really disliked the main character. That made me not want to read it, just her voice, her actions frustrated me.
I would read the second book because the ending was interesting and far more easy to read than the book per se. Plus, it has kind of a cliffhanger challenging ending and I can’t wait to see some reactions from some characters.

The Characters:
The girl, who is the main character, just frustrated me. I hated she didn’t have the courage to defend herself, I’m not talking of standing for others because maybe that’s too much. But she didn’t do anything, to survive, to be respected. I just couldn’t stand her. I felt the book was more of her, the people she met, how she moved into this new life and the book could have been much more.
There were other characters we didn’t really get to know, others I loved and then hated, others I hated from the beginning.

Though it was a great idea I couldn’t connect with the main character and that made me not enjoy the book as much as I expected.

Abuout the author:

22 year old author and university student who gets very distraught over proper bibliographies for academic papers (as in, I’m anxious because I always mess them up.) I adore reading almost as much as I adore writing–at that, give me any medium of story. Books are my favorite, but I’ll inhale movies, TV shows, graphic novels, manga, plays, video games, horror-stories-around-the-campfire (as long as there are s’mores.) When I’m not reading, writing, or being a stressed out university student, I’m probably gaming or sleeping or spinning around on my wheelie desk chair. I’m allergic to cats.

Goodreads. Website. Twitter.

6 thoughts on “A bit of a disappointment. | Review: Children of Icarus

Responder

