Marketing, Marketing, Marketing: A Book Isn’t Over After Editing | Guest Post!

be3

Marketing, Marketing, Marketing: A Book Isn’t Over After Editing

Hi, folks! My name’s Dane Cobain, and I’m an author (and a marketer!) from the United Kingdom. You might have guessed from the title – I’m here today to talk about marketing.

See, the hard work isn’t over once you’ve finished writing. Holding a physical copy of your book in your hands is a rewarding feeling, but if you want people to read it then you’re going to need to work hard to get it out there.

There are a lot of elements to that, from networking in real-life to getting your name out there online through blog posts like this one. There’s too much to cover in a single blog post (an author friend of mine, Barb Drozdowich, wrote an entire book that was purely about working with book vloggers), but I did want to take a few minutes to talk about some of the stuff I’ve got planned for the coming months.

social_media_icons_blot_icons_set_512x512_0004_youtubeFirst up, I need to make some new book trailers – I created them for my first three books, but I haven’t made one for my latest release (Social Paranoia), and I also want to make one for my upcoming release, a horror novella and screenplay called Come On Up to the House. Book trailers work well because they help you to convey a sense of what the book is all about in a short space of time.

Then there are some of the offline tools that I need to work on. I have business cards for a couple of releases and I want to get some more printed for the newer ones, as well as a few bits and bobs like bookmarks, that I can give away at events or offer free when people make purchases.

I run a monthly spoken word night in my native High Wycombe, and I sell a few books at those, but I want to branch out and go to more events. I’ve been to trade shows before but I’ve never had a physical presence there, so I’m going to shop around the smaller ones and look into booking a table. I also want to look at craft fayres, as well as more open mic nights and poetry shows.

27630E-mail lists are an option, too – you might have heard of Bookbub, which is probably the most popular one. It’s so successful because it benefits both authors and readers – authors get the extra exposure, and readers get discounted (or free) book offers. But, like so many marketing tools, it costs money to do it, and I find it’s often the case that I spend more on marketing than I recoup in sales.

And I’ve got all sorts of other plans too, from interactive quizzes and some freelance work to fund the more ambitious options, to paid advertising, competitions and more.

Marketing your books is hard work, but it’s worth it. I hope you’ll follow me to see how it goes, or even better – buy a book to support me!

About the author:

Dane Cobain (High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire, UK) is an independent poet, musician and storyteller with a passion for language and learning. When he’s not in front of a screen writing stories and poetry, he can be found working on his book review blog or developing his website, www.danecobain.com. His debut novella, No Rest for the Wicked, was released in the summer of 2015.

2 thoughts on “Marketing, Marketing, Marketing: A Book Isn’t Over After Editing | Guest Post!

Responder

