Maybe this wasn’t the most original story but I liked it | Review: Chasing Eva

ce

31375113An addictive, suspenseful & sensual story about a man and a woman whose lives are about to get sizzling hot…

After living through her share of disloyal relationships, Evangeline Avery will be damned if she lets another man cheat her. A beautiful and confident woman, Eva is the owner of an interior design firm at the brink of collapse. She swears to bring her company back to its past glory, even if it involves sweet talking the one man who caused this turmoil in the first place – Clive Stanton.

Notorious playboy Clive Stanton is a powerful businessman and a formidable enemy of many. He doesn’t do love, or at least not until he meets her again, fifteen years after he saw her last. Eva, his crush from teenage years, the one that got away, is back in his world and he is determined to do anything to make her his.

Will passion and lust bring them together or conflict and the unforgettable scars from their pasts forever tear them apart?

Goodreads. Amazon.

*I recived a copy of this book from the author in exchange of a honest review*

4 estrellas

*3.8/5 stars*

Enjoyed this!

The Writing:
I found this book super easy to read, entertaining with humor, sexy scenes and mystery.
We read from different POVs and they are identified and divided, I liked that because I was never confused.

The Story:
I liked the story but I could see some similar things with FSoG, though I must say they are different too.
This story is about Eva, a chef that now is the leader of a interior design firm as her father died. She doesn’t know a lot about it but she is doing her best. Then we have Clive a young successful playboy that runs other company.
There is a romance between these main characters, which has many hot scenes (this has sex scenes so, those who don’t like to read them, have this in mind) but it’s a sweet relationship. They have their ups and downs but I like that they know they want each other, they don’t play with other people, don’t spend 50 pages doubting. It was great to read that. Other thing I liked about this couple: they didn’t say I love you two seconds after they met. They admit what they first feel is attraction. Does that develop into something else? Yes, into a romance I really enjoyed.
I like the touch of mystery and suspense. Let me be clear: This is a romance story with touch of suspense. But anyway, it was good to read and has me intrigued.

The Characters:
Eva: I liked Eva, she was quite real. She wasn’t vain but she accepted compliments. She was a successful young woman. Though maybe sometimes I wish she was more resolute. She wasn’t blind to her own beliefs and didn’t hesitate on saying sorry. She also didn’t want to be a hero and asked for help when she needed it.
Clive: He was the playboy, super hot but sweet guy. He was protective but respected Eva’s decisions. He was also very sweet with his family.
Ali and Izzy: They seemed to be fun caring friends.

I want to explain a bit why I mentioned Fifty Shades at the beginning. This has similar elements like he owns an enterprise, he can flight an helicopter, he can be a little demanding. But, I have to say the differences. This is not a BDSM relationship, there are sex scenes, explicit but not BDSM. The idea of the company owner, famous is used in many other books (personally I like this ‘trope’ so I can’t say anything). But Clive is famous, like we can see them in gossips magazines so, that is a difference. Eva, has a name of her own, her own company. Other books use the idea of the company owner and someone way different.
This is just to explain what I felt, similar and different things.

Overall:
Maybe this wasn’t the most original story but I liked it. There are many unresolved things, mystery and relationships that I would enjoy to know what happen. It has some hot moments as well as sweet ones. The characters were good, no one frustrated me.

I would recommend this to people who like some sex scenes here and there, a sweet relationship, very successful main characters and a small mystery.

About the author:

Camellia Hart, a techie turned author of romance, lives in San Francisco with her husband, the love of her life. Other than writing her next romance novel, her hobbies include traveling, lazing on a beach with a good read, watching movies with happy endings while gorging on endless buckets of popcorn, red wine, and champagne truffles.

Camellia loves to hear from her readers! Contact and follow her via:
Website
Facebook
Pintrest
Amazon

2 thoughts on “Maybe this wasn’t the most original story but I liked it | Review: Chasing Eva

Responder

