This was strange… | Review: Two Graves

two

31840144(TWO GRAVES is a short novella, about 70 pages. It is volume #1 in Zoe Kalo’s psychological suspense “Retribution” series.)

A Dante-ish descent through a sinister world of decadent shadows and woeful souls…

Seven years ago, he shattered her life. The town eventually forgot the headlines and the nightmares. But 23-year old music student Angelica hasn’t forgotten.

For the past seven years, she’s contemplated payback with as much intensity and unwavering faith as she puts into her violin playing. Finally, all the pieces are in place. Over the course of one night, disguised for a masquerade ball, Angelica orchestrates a journey of revenge.

Goodreads.Amazon.

*I received a copy of this book in exchange of a honest review*

3 estrellas

This was strange…

The Writing:
I was confused through this book. I liked how the author played with past and present, it was two stories at the same time that had influence between each other.

The Story:
Being honest, I’m not sure I completely this story.
As I said before I was quite confused while reading.
There were elements I really appreciated. This constant Dante’s Inferno we see was great. I love Dante’s Inferno so that ‘retelling’ was great, but I didn’t think about it until it was very clear. The ball idea was great too, masquerades, what they mean through this book is an interesting concept.
I got part of her story from the past, and then the present. There were many interesting characters, and ideas of characters.
What has me more confused and with doubt are the endings of both stories. I don’t think they had a clear ending, maybe that was the point.
I just felt this as a weird strory, it’s quite short maybe because of that I don’t get everything.
It has mystery and suspense, there is no romance but it has a lot of pain and revenge.
I think this could have been a longer story, that wasn’t and that confused me. It has a lot going on in a small package.

If I had to sum up my thoughts in a few lines:
This was an interesting confusing read. What I advice is that you have to read it and see. It’s one of those books you should experience because opinions can be different.
It had mystery and suspense, pain and revenge. For me it also had at least one of the stories an unresolved ending.

Quotes:

“Laugh at the grief that poisons your heart,”

“There’s no right answer, no right way. Truth is forever ambiguous. Truth is…is what seems to us that way in that moment.”

About the author:

A certified bookworm, Zoe Kalo has always been obsessed with books and reading. Reading led to writing—compulsively. No surprise that at 16, she wrote her first novel, which her classmates read and passed around secretly. The pleasure of writing and sharing her fantasy worlds has stayed with her, so now she wants to pass her stories to you with no secrecy—but with lots of mystery…

A daughter of adventurous expats, she’s had the good fortune of living on 3 continents, learning 4 languages, and experiencing a multicultural life. Currently, she’s working on a Master’s degree in Comparative Literature, which she balances between writing, taking care of her clowder of cats, and searching for the perfect bottle of pinot noir. She is the author of the YA fantasy series CULT OF THE CAT.

Connect with Zoe Kalo on the web:

www.ZoeKalo.com / Facebook / Twitter / Goodreads

 

One thought on “This was strange… | Review: Two Graves

Responder

