So…this was more hot than I expected… | Review: Bound by Honor

bound

23357188Born into one of the leading Mob families in Chicago, Aria Scuderi struggles to find her own path in a world where no choices are given. Aria was only fifteen when her parents betrothed her to Luca – The Vice – Vitiello, the oldest son of the head of the New York Cosa Nostra to ensure peace between the two families.

Now at eighteen, the day Aria has been dreading for years is looming dangerously: her wedding to Luca.

Aria is terrified of marrying a man she hardly knows, especially someone like Luca who got his nickname ‘the Vice’ for crushing a man’s throat with his bare hands. Luca might be one of the most sought after men in New York thanks to his good looks, wealth and predator-like charisma that radiates power, but the society girls throwing themselves at him don’t know what Aria does: that the bad boy aura isn’t just a game; blood and death lurk beneath Luca’s striking gray eyes and arrogant smile.

In her world a handsome exterior often hides the monster within; a monster who can just as easily kill as kiss you.

The only way to escape the marriage to Luca would be to run away and leave everything she’s ever known behind but Aria can’t bear the thought of never seeing her family again.

Despite her fear, she decides to go through with the marriage; Aria has grown up among predators like Luca and knows that even most cold-hearted bastards have a heart and she has every intention of working her way into Luca’s.

Goodreads. Amazon.

4 estrellas

So…this was more hot than I expected…

One of the things about me is that if a book has anythying related with mafia, I’ll read it. No doubt. So, I had to read this.
I enjoyed this book but I also think it could have been a lot more. This has a lot of sexual content, more than I expected and not so much about mafia. I wanted more fights, more crime, I don’t know, mafia. It’s okay to have romance in it because I enjoy it too, but I wanted more action.
The romance was good. Other thing I enjoy reading is the bad guy falling in love, can’t help it. I enjoyed that kind of romance. However I expected more from Aria, the main character. I expected her to be more bold, to try and be more than just a trophy, and she became more but not in the business. She didn’t do anything until Luca came, but come on! You have a life too, and I understand that it is dangerous but at least do something in your house. But I liked Aria, don’t get me wrong she wasn’t a bad character. However I’m excited to read Gianna’s story, because I think I’ll love her a lot and maybe she completes my expectatives.
About Luca, I like him. He is not a ‘gentleman’, he knows it, he won’t pretend to be one. I hated him sometimes but he wasn’t that bad. And if he wanted, he could be pretty sweet. But he has had a rough past, that led him to be like that and his future won’t be easy anyway.

I read this in one sitting, it was addictive and really enjoyable. If you like more like sex scenes and complicated romance, you might like this. It disappointed me a bit in the mafia part, the action, but the serie continues and I hope to see that develop in the future books.

Quotes:

“I enter alive and I will have to get out dead.”

“Maybe love is a risk, but it’s a risk I’m willing to take and as you said, it’s not a choice. I never thought I would, never thought I could love someone like that but I fell in love with you. I fought it. It’s the first battle I didn’t mind losing.”

 

3 thoughts on “So…this was more hot than I expected… | Review: Bound by Honor

Responder

