What do you know about Einstein’s first wife? | Review: The Other Einstein

ein

28389305A vivid and mesmerizing novel about the extraordinary woman who married and worked with one of the greatest scientists in history.

What secrets may have lurked in the shadows of Albert Einstein’s fame? His first wife, Mileva “Mitza” Marić, was more than the devoted mother of their three children—she was also a brilliant physicist in her own right, and her contributions to the special theory of relativity have been hotly debated for more than a century.

In 1896, the extraordinarily gifted Mileva is the only woman studying physics at an elite school in Zürich. There, she falls for charismatic fellow student Albert Einstein, who promises to treat her as an equal in both love and science. But as Albert’s fame grows, so too does Mileva’s worry that her light will be lost in her husband’s shadow forever.

A literary historical in the tradition of The Paris Wife and Mrs. Poe,The Other Einstein reveals a complicated partnership that is as fascinating as it is troubling.

Expected publication: October 18th 2016

Goodreads. Amazon.

3 estrellas y media

*3.7/5 stars*

The Writing:
This book for me was a fast read, not an easy one but I read it pretty fast. It’s all from Mitza’s POV and as the author said, that’s because she is telling Mitza’s story. And I have to say that I preferred this POV, if I had read from Albert’s point I would be more angry than I am.

The Story:
I liked the story. This is the story about Mileva Maric, the first wife of Albert Einstein. This is what got my attention, because this is not what I usually read but I enjoyed it.
At the beginning I was so happy with this story, like they were so sweet, yes, Albert was a bit eccentric but they were a cute couple. When you start reading this book you feel like that but while you read it it gets so frustrating and annoying and got me so angry. But I don’t really blame the author for this. It’s just a sad story. I felt so sad, even now I feel so sad and I have this injustice feeling everywhere.
This book presents the life of a genius woman, that goes against everything in that time, having a proper education, going to university. She bared with all the comments, how they looked down everytime she was there, their gosspis and sometimes threats. But she got through all this with her family support, which was amazing, her father was so supportive. When she goes to University she meets Albert. She knows she shouldn’t talk with him, she just has to concentrate on her career. But Albert won’t make this easy.
Now, I have some things I want to say of some topics in this book. You might consider this an spoiler and maybe you should find Mitza’s story on your own but this is my warning.
Together they get a lot of projects and ideas, develop a love relationship and they finally become a couple. First of all, he wasn’t brave enough to face their child. Let me be clear: two make a child. You are man enough to spend your days, talking in cafes but not to face the reality with the person you love? And this happens now too.
Then when Lieslr dies, he acts like nothing happened. She was nothing to him while Mitza was suffering. He was so selfish.
Lets talk about how slowly he reduced her chances to finally have a place in the world, on her own. Something they both dreamed. And this just got worse and worse. She didn’t have what she deserved. What about working together on the 1905 theory? This might have been worse for me because I just believe in copyright so much, if you created it it’s yours. But that, with such an important theory he just owned it when it wasn’t his. That was so frustrating. Then he gets these other projects where Mitza was so capable to help but he couldn’t see past his ego. But he blamed her because she was ‘selfish’ and couldn’t think of others. That was him. Mitza never did anything wrong. But that’s not right.
What she did wrong was not making him respect her. Her rights and beliefs should have been more important but as it’s said…’We are all fools in love’ but let’s just not be stupid. Respect yourslef, make others respect you. I know at that time she needed a husband and all that, I get it but this is for now too.
I have seen some people say that the side, the way Albert is presented just makes him more human. But he was a human, and he shouldn’t have done all those things to prove that. ‘That is what they thought in that time’, truth, but that doesn’t make it right. Women have rights, should be equals and have all the recognition for what they do, as men do.
Lastly, that list of things she must do if she wanted him to stay was too much. That is just making her worse than anything, making her lose her rights and her freedom. That infuriated me so much and when I read the document, he actually wrote that. It was just too much.
He was with other woman but still blamed Mitza for everything, he wasn’t ever responsible for anything.
It was sad to see how this great woman was treated and ended up being less than she could have been.
This book also made me see Albert Einstein in a new way.

Other thing I want to say that I enjoyed about this book is how the author gives a little about her sources. I could read letters between Albert and many people that appear in this book. It was great. I could read articles about the theories of Mitza being a co-author of 1905 theory and those who say she was just an emotional support.

I know this is a work of fiction as the author says but I’m happy to have read it. Although it was a sad story I think it was pretty true in the feelings, what woman had to endure and how many were left behind. I expected more from Mitza, but that is what happened and it is a work of fiction mixed with some things we know about their stories.
This is my first time reading this kind of book but I enjoyed it. I enjoyed learning about this woman that I’m not sure I would have known about in other way.

About the author:

Marie Benedict is a lawyer with more than ten years’ experience as a litigator at two of the country’s premier law firms. She is a magna cum laude graduate of Boston College with a focus in History and Art History, and a cum laude graduate of the Boston University School of Law. While practicing as a lawyer, Marie dreamed of a fantastical job unearthing the hidden historical stories of women — and finally found it when she tried her hand at writing. She embarked on a new, narratively connected series of historical novels with THE OTHER EINSTEIN, which tells the tale of Albert Einstein’s first wife, a physicist herself, and the role she might have played in his theories. Writing as Heather Terrell, Marie also published the historical novels The Chrysalis, The Map Thief, and Brigid of Kildare.

Goodreads. Website.

4 thoughts on “What do you know about Einstein’s first wife? | Review: The Other Einstein

Responder

