In love with the author, not so much with this book: Persuasion (Part 1)

persuasion

18300265Twenty-seven-year old Anne Elliot is Austen’s most adult heroine. Eight years before the story proper begins, she is happily betrothed to a naval officer, Frederick Wentworth, but she precipitously breaks off the engagement when persuaded by her friend Lady Russell that such a match is unworthy. The breakup produces in Anne a deep and long-lasting regret. When later Wentworth returns from sea a rich and successful captain, he finds Anne’s family on the brink of financial ruin and his own sister a tenant in Kellynch Hall, the Elliot estate. All the tension of the novel revolves around one question: Will Anne and Wentworth be reunited in their love?

Jane Austen once compared her writing to painting on a little bit of ivory, 2 inches square. Readers of Persuasion will discover that neither her skill for delicate, ironic observations on social custom, love, and marriage nor her ability to apply a sharp focus lens to English manners and morals has deserted her in her final finished work.

3 estrellas

This is my second Jane Austen book and I have to say that I’m in love with her writing and I can’t believe how easy it has been to read her books. I was scared that I would find this not as good as P&P, that I would feel it hard to get into or dragged but none of these things happened.
Though I must say that I didn’t like this as much as P&P. But I have to say that I think that’s because of the main character Ana. I liked her, she was so sweet and kind but I just couldn’t connect with her. She didn’t seem to be as strong as I would have liked.
The romance story was quite different too. The main couple doesn’t have many interactions together, they almost didn’t talk! I didn’t know what to think about them, if they had a future or not. I liked how Eliza and Darcy teased each other and exchanged opinions. I couldn’t see this in the book. I feel like though I know they love each other with all their hearts I don’t know the couple. I’m not sure how they would be together and just couldn’t see the personalities together.
Some things I liked were:
•Criticism to men and women roles, when Ana says that basically woman had to sit with all her feelings in the house while man could go out, have aspirations, responsabilities others than houses and professions.
•Criticism to men again because they where the ones who had more and better education so they wrote all the stories, many times not leaving woman in a ‘good image’
•I felt that the constant way the author showed us how fake, proud, plotting to what worked for them and vain society was, was a critic. Though I also feel that some things are in our society too.

Though it was a good story, I couldn’t connect or agree with the main characters. I would have liked to see some more interaction between the main couple. In spite of these things I have to say that I can see why people love Jane Austen. Again, can’t wait to read more of her stories.

Responder

