If I had read this a year, a year and a half ago or more maybe it was a 5/5 stars. | Review: The Gender Game

gender

31131467For fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent
comes a story like no other…

A toxic river divides nineteen-year-old Violet Bates’s world by gender.

Women rule the East. Men rule the West.

Welcome to the lands of Matrus and Patrus.

Ever since the disappearance of her beloved younger brother, Violet’s life has been consumed by an anger she struggles to control. Already a prisoner to her own nation, now she has been sentenced to death for her crimes.

But one decision could save her life.

To enter the kingdom of Patrus, where men rule and women submit.

Everything about the patriarchy is dangerous for a rebellious girl like Violet. She cannot break the rules if she wishes to stay alive.

But abiding by rules has never been Violet’s strong suit.

When she’s thrust into more danger than she could have ever predicted, Violet is forced to sacrifice many things in the forbidden kingdom … including forbidden love.

In a world divided by gender, only the strongest survive…

Goodreads.Amazon.

*I was provided a copy of this book through Netgalley in exchange of a honest review*

4 estrellas

I liked this and I gave it a good rating (for me) and if I had read this a year, a year and a half ago or more maybe it was a 5/5 stars.

The Writing:
I liked the writing, it felt kind of classical YA. It had one POV and maybe i would have liked to read from Viggo’s POV. It was easy and fast to read, quite entertaining, I wouldn’t say life changing but it was a good dystopic book.

The Story:
I really liked the idea of the story. It’s set in a world that after wars was being reconstructed but women and men had different ideas of the new society to come. That ended up having two ‘countries’ with monarchies. We have Matrus, a country where women are ruling and are in charge, men have less rights and have almost no position in society. On the other hand is Patrus, a society ruled by men and they have all the positions and careers, women are almost pets, not allowed to go out withouth a husband, speak or do anything by themselves.
I think the world was unique, the idea was different and surprised me.We got to know a lot of these countries though I believe a bit more of Patrus.
Our main character is convicted to almost death and so she accepts a mission for her country in Patrus, where she is supposed to be married to Lee, a Matrus man but living in Patrus as an spy.
The story in its development was good. It had action and surprised me many times because things I didn’t expect happened most of the time. It keept you in a stress kind of mood because everything was on the line, all the action and the spies, not only the monarchy was an enemy the people from Patrus were an enemy too.
Other thing we had was the romance. This was a classical YA romance and I enjoyed it soo much. Nothing more than a kiss but all the tension and romance that built through different moments was great. I could see from the first moment who would be the love interest and couple but that is fine too because I had to see them develop their emotions.
The ending was a complete surprise. I didn’t expect any of the things that happened to happen and that left me wanting more. I want to know what happened to some characters, I want to know what will happen, what is the truth, and all the answers I don’t have…yet.

I think we could say this was a kind of action/spy story (which I don’t usually read and was great), the most original thing for me was the world. The romance felt like a classic YA, which was not bad for me but it didn’t have any surprise there. There was action many times that made the story more fast paced and it had you in a kind of stress level all times.

The Characters:
I have to say this (and I’m happy to say this): is easy in YA and most of all these kind of fantasy that some character (usually the main one) is frustrating or at least a couple of times while reading it you want to *facepalm*. I think that didn’t happen to me.
•Violet: She was young but she did what she had. I liked her, I liked that she was not blind by any kind of loyalty, she used facts to lay her loyalty. There were just a few times I think I said: ‘don’t do that’ but she did anyway and I had to read it and well, I’m just a humble reader. I think she will develop a lot more as a character in next books and I’m really loking forward to that. I feel like she did grow but she could have grown a lot more. She learned about love and how people can lie to achieve what they want. The ending leaves you wondering what’s coming for her and I think she can become an amazing character.
•Lee: You ended up being a surprise. He was a mastermind, very intelligent and only he knew what he really wanted.
•Viggo: I liked him a lot. We know him but I hope we get to know even more. He wasn’t the romantic type, he was more wild but serious. And I really want him to open and I think when that happens if the author does things well he can be an amazing character.

Overall this was an interesting setting, with a classical YA romance, for me fast paced and easy to read.

About the author:

Best known for writing fantasy, Bella Forrest is a lover of romance, action and mystery-infused stories with twists you won’t see coming. She has sold over five million books since her first novel was published in 2012.

Goodreads.   Website.   Twitter.

Responder

