I liked this but sometimes it was frustrating | Review: Northanger Abbey

northanger

18300264Northanger Abbey is often referred to as Jane Austen’s Gothic parody. Decrepit castles, locked rooms, mysterious chests, cryptic notes, and tyrannical fathers give the story an uncanny air, but one with a decidedly satirical twist.

The story’s heroine is Catherine Morland, an innocent seventeen-year-old woman from a country parsonage. While spending a few weeks in Bath with a family friend, Catherine meets and falls in love with Henry Tilney, who invites her to visit his family estate, Northanger Abbey. Once there, Catherine, a great reader of Gothic thrillers, lets the shadowy atmosphere of the old mansion fill her mind with terrible suspicions. What is the mystery surrounding the death of Henry’s mother? Is the family concealing a terrible secret within the elegant rooms of the Abbey? Can she trust Henry, or is he part of an evil conspiracy? Catherine finds dreadful portents in the most prosaic events, until Henry persuades her to see the peril in confusing life with art.

Goodreads. Amazon

I’m part of the Austentatious book club and this was October’s book, I know, a bit late the review but I read it on time.

4 estrellas

*3.8/5 stars*

I liked this more than Persuasion but my favourite is still Pride and Prejudice.

•One of my favourite things about this book is the criticism and irony that the author does in topics like: novels, girls blind by novels, stereotypes, marriage. When Asuten defends novels is a great part and I totally agree tho my favorite critic must be of heroines sterotypes which is very clear.

•Something I loved about this book was the writing. You were with Cathereine but like a surprise it was Asuten talking to you. You were in the story but she pulled you out and made you ‘see’ it from above. I loved those changes when the author talked to me too.

•At the end, it was money that made all the book possible but it was love that won. Mr Tilney wanted Henry to marry Catherine because of her money and that led all the connection between the family, the invitations. But at the end love won.

•Talking a bit about the characters, at the beginning I liked Isabella but when you realise how she really is, I couldn’t stand her. She didn’t care about others, only about her and if she thought of someone else that was out of materil interest. I wanted Catherine to be far far away from her. She persuaded Catherine so easily at the beginning. I was really happy when Catherine saw how she really was and ended all friendship.

•Other character I couldn’t stand but this one from the beginning was John. Ugh. I hated hated him. He was so selfish and self-centered. He took decisions for Catherine like she didn’t have a mind. He lied when she didn’t want to! It was so frustrating, he was frustrating. I wanted Catherine to run from him very fast.

•The Tilney family. Mr Tilney was a bit weird for me. I didn’t like him a lot. Eleanor was very sweet and I’m happy with her friendship with Catherine. Henry was so fun, spontaneous, refreshing. He made jokes but could do some serious talk. He respected women and talked about his ideas without fear. I really liked him.

•I feel like Catherine & Henry’s relatinship was different. In the end when you know that at the beginning he paid attention to her because of her interest. That felt different. It was also very fun when they are going to Northanger and Catherine just thinks of ‘living’ with Henry, it’s her main reason to go. And then she finds out he actually doesn’t live there.

•I had conflicting feelings for Catherine. She was young and innocent but not a fool and that was great. I didn’t like that someone said something and she was doubting all over it but then when ‘the someone’ said it automatically it was true. I didn’t like that of her character. However I liked that she made an opinion of someone based on their personality not what they had.

•I liked that Catherine was a reader and her passion made me feel closer to her. However it was so exasperating when she thought her life was a novel and everything led to a mystery. I know it was kind of the purpose but it still made me angry and she couldn’t she how out of nowhere were some of her theories. And when she confesed her theories to Henry, I wanted to throw the book away, I felt so embarrased for her but Henry was so cool about it. He didn’t make a big deal out of it.

•However, connected to the previous point, as much as it frustrated me and all that I thought: But I do that. Not with the mystery, but now it’s with the romance. I expect a book romance. I know it’s not likely to happen, I’m very aware of that, but I dream of one and why not? Why not dreaming with that? It’s dangerous but I know possibilities of something like that are very low.

Quotes:

“Friendship is really the finest balm for the pangs of disappointed love.”

“The person, be it gentleman or lady, who has not pleasure in a good novel, must be intolerably stupid.”

“If adventures will not befall a young lady in her own village, she must seek them abroad.”

“Beware how you give your heart.”

“Friendship is really the finest balm for the pangs of disappointed love.”

Responder

