Mystery and sometimes scary read | Review: Broken Branches

review

35106198‘Family curses don’t exist. Sure, some families seem to suffer more pain than others, but a curse? An actual curse? I don’t think so.’

A family tragedy was the catalyst for Ian Perkins to return to the isolated cottage with his wife and young son. But now they are back, it seems yet more grief might befall the family.

There is still time to act, but that means Ian must face the uncomfortable truth about his past. And in doing so, he must uncover the truth behind the supposed family curse.

Goodreads.

*I received a copy of this book in exchange of a honest review*

4 estrellas

Sadly because of university this took me longer to read than it would have on a normal reading schedule.

The Writing:
I believe this can be an easy read but sometimes I just had to have a break from it. The chapters are short which for me is better to follow the story and make it more dynimic.
Other thing I enjoyed about the writing is how the author played with past and present. At the beginning it might seem a bit confusing but once I got used to it I quite enjoyed it.

The Story:
The story was not what I’m used to read. It’s a mystery kind of thing with supernatural stuff and of course the curse.
One of the things I loved about the story was how easy it was for me to be totally into it. What I mean with this is, once I opened the book I was in the story, so into it it scared me sometimes and had to put it down.
Once I finished it I had this kind of weird feeling in which I feel like nothing really big happened in a big part of the book but at the same time it was so great to read it, I didn’t feel bored or anything.
The end while you might start guessing it a few pages before, it was a big surprise for me. It makes sense but I didn’t expect it, less see it coming.
There are somethings I don’t understand, that I feel aren’t closed, the author didn’t explain them and I can’t find them any logic. But these are just my feelings, maybe another reader feels other way.

The Characters:
Ian: Well, this is the main and almost the only character, I feel. We are 99% of the book in his mind, on his POV. He had this obsession, this need to solve the curse, find a reason, and explanation and prove he wasn’t crazy.
The marriage between him and Rachel is other great factor. It was quite difficult for me, I don’t know why, to read it. I believe it was because it was worse and worse each time. It was a broken relationship and neither of them could find a way to be together in a real relationship.
We go through all Ian’s life as the author goes back and forward in time. That makes us understand him and his situation a lot more and introduced us to other characters.
It was weird all along, being not sure of what was real or not; what was the reality and what was full of his emotions and that allowed the ending to be a surprise.
Rachel: I feel I had an entire false image of her. I wouldn’t say false more like wrong. I had her in my her one way and she ended up being quite different. She is there, in the story but at the same time she is a side character. That’s why we know her but through Ian’s eyes, not from her own POV.

Overall this was a good mystery and sometimes scary read. The ending surprised me a lot though I feel there are still unsolved things.

I would recommend this if you want a ‘soft’ mystery read, which might not be scary to those who are used to the genre but the mystery is quite good. Also the character, Ian, is the one guiding us all and leading us to an unexpected ending.

 

2 thoughts on “Mystery and sometimes scary read | Review: Broken Branches

  1. I’m about half way through this at the moment. Its a different kind of read, but that’s a good thing I think. I have no idea how the story will end, again a good thing. Your review makes me want to continue reading it now, so I’m off back to Broken Branches. 😉
    Amanda

    Le gusta a 1 persona

Responder

