Review: Shadows of Angels

Shadows of Angels Blog Tour Image

26366235After the forest dwellers destroy her home and kill her father, Aerbrin sets off on a journey to find the truth about her people, her kingdom, and the mysterious Zaad stone that contains a power she never imagined. Magic and mystery join forces in this intriguing fantasy world. Full of shifting alliances and twists you won’t see coming, it’s a can’t-miss read.

Goodreads link.

Amazon link.

Pages: 320

Publication: December 8th 2015

*I was given a copy in exchange of a honest review*

4-5

The Writing:
This book has multiple POVs, not only from two or three characters, there are a LOT. Sometimes it was great because you get into some characters head but sometimes I just wanted to keep reading in one POV and I couldn’t. Besides that, the writing was great. It hasnt those loong descriptions that makes you want to skip them but you can imagine all places.

The Story:
I got into this book in the first pages. It intrigued me the way it started and how the story would continue. You follow one of the characters, Aerbrin. But when you get more into the book you follow two different stories that are very related. You’ll meet Hilfawn, Aerbrin’s cousin. You will follow these two ladies in their journey and you start following ReligioBenedic (weird name, at least for me), their kingdom in its own journey. This journey last goal is freedom from a tyrant, their actual king.
I liked following these stories but at the same time I just wanted to read one and not press ‘pause’ to change for the other one.
It has lots of fight and survival things. They fight demons and Forest Dwellers, creatures I imagined as kind of zombies (sorrynotsorry). I liked these supernatural things. At the end there is just a bit of mythology with I really liked too. Without doubts, its a fantasy, I think you could say a bit dark because they fight these bad supernatural creatures and their reality is pretty bad too. I almost forgot about a bit shapeshifting thing and powerful stones. The mind games that there are in some part of the books were great too.
The Characters:
•Aerbrin: I liked her from the first moment. She is a fighter and someone who would risk her life for others. She doesn’t pretend to be strong, she is strong.
•Hilfawn: I didn’t like her much until the middle-end of the book. I can’t say I dislike her but I’m not to sure I like her. Bah, I’m complicated. She has a character development through the book, and ends up stronger than at the beginning, circumstances demand her that.
•Vita: I thought we would see him more. We saw him at the first part of the book and then he disappeared. I liked him but I really wanted to know more to see him more.
•Timbrick: I like him! I can’t wait to see him in her future role.

This is a good fantasy, with dark supernatural elements, and mind games. Characters that try to save their kingdom and survive, thing that is not easy most of time.

If you like the Throne of Glass series, I think this is perfect for you.

Quotes:

“It gives one pause, does it not? How one’s choices affect another so drastically.”

“Life is a fairytale-it just isn’t always a happy one.”

“Sometimes is necessary to go on the offensive- to become the predator, to keep being the prey.”

About the author:

L. G. Rollins grew up in a far off land fighting dragons, stealing talismans, and traveling with dwarfs and elves. She is especially skilled at bribing giants with sweets. Currently, her husband and four kids live in Utah so that is where she spends most of her time. She may, or may not, have a Zaad Stone. To learn more about L. G. Rollins and her books visit LGRollins.com.
Shadows of Angels comes out December 8th and is the beginning of the Zaad Stone trilogy.

Website.

One thought on “Review: Shadows of Angels

Responder

